Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Yum, yum, YUM! We don't like chili peppers, so I diced red and green bell peppers, which also made for a colorful touch. And I even added a bit of broccoli so that it wouldn't go to waste. Instead of bacon, I used sausage. I'm not a believer in deviating too much from the recipe, but it was great for our tastes and what happened to be in the fridge. What it showed to me is that this recipe is perfect for customization. Maybe a different cheese, meat, veg, whatever is all it takes to make it perfect for you and your family. I knew when my husband moaned throughout eating them that I'd found another keeper! And it's also low-carb, which is our lifestyle. Thank you for sharing, Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I give this recipe 5 Stars with these Modifications, I used Real Crumbled bacon bits instead of cooking bacon, Its easier. Next i used only 5 eggs.(I was not sure how it was going to turn out due to mixed reviews did not want to waste food!) I used 3oz of Jalepenos instead of green chile's. This makes it have a REAL Kick! I also used 1 Cup of flour. I added pepper to taste, Cut out the Butter and Salt all together. I also added diced ham. I cooked in a Muffin pan that was greased pretty well! I let the batter sit in the fridge about 10 minutes and then baked. No need to let it sit over night. I baked at 325* ( i use dark pans) for about 25 minutes and they were PERFECT! No sticking at all! My husband says this is a must have weekly! Also NOTE: With the modifications i made it made 10 Muffins. So adjust accordingly if making a larger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
These were good, but the next time I make them I would cut down on the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Good for potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I would have rated this a 4 because I think they taste okay but my husband LOVED the cr4p out of them so I'm bumping it up to a 5. ALTERATIONS: 2T butter; used mixed cheeses (Monterrey Jack, Cheddar, Asagio, etc.); 10 oz can diced green chili peppers mixed with tomatoes; added pepper. I made two batches, one that I only left in the fridge for an hour (not overnight per instructions) and it came out fine. The other batch I left in the fridge for a couple of days and they definitely came out puffier; but if you're in a hurry they still taste good if you don't have time to refrigerate them overnight. I would like to add that once these are cooked they freeze very well - just wrap them individually and pop them in the micro when you get hungry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These taste great, and it's so easy to adjust them to your own personal taste. The only change that I personally make is to use pepper jack cheese in place of the jack cheese, and omit the diced green chiles. My son hates eggs of any kind, but he loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe, with two exceptions: omitted the butter and the salt. Still, these were much too salty for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These were really great! Only thing I did different was used a 4 oz. can of green chile peppers (I had one in the pantry so I just used that instead of buying another, larger can.) It gave just a hint of the pepper flavor, which was good for my kids since they don't care for super spicy, but I'm sure with the larger can they'd still be just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were great. My wife and I loved them I used cheddar because that's what I had, everything else I used according to the recipe. We froze the rest for MRE's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This sounded so good and turned out to be awful. It was tough and heavy and had a bad after-taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States