Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These little puffs are delicious and everyone at our Easter church breakfast enjoyed them. I did change it up a bit to suit my low cholesterol diet. I used canadian bacon, egg substitute, lowfat cheese and wheat flour. My pot of chives are looking great right now so I also added a handful of chopped chives which gave them a good flavor. I used mini muffin pans which are teflon coated and I also sprayed each tin with canola but they still didn't want to come out of the pans so that was a bit time consuming. After the first 3 pans I decided to use paper liners in the next 3 pans. These are the ones I took to the breakfast. They were very pretty but you had to did them out of the paper liners which wasn't the idea I had in mind. Oh well, they were still mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I've made this twice now, but I didn't exactly follow the recipe! First, and most important I think, is that the melted butter is absolutely unnecessary. I do LOVE butter, but you don't need it in these. I made these with a pound of bacon, about 8 oz of garlic Monterey Jack (from Beechwood Cheese Co.), 8 oz of sharp cheddar instead of just cheddar, and added one bunch of chopped spring onions. I didn't use the chiles so this didn't have the Southwest flavor of the original recipe, but I loved my version! I did follow the recipe otherwise, so this is a good one to alter to fit your family's tastes. Also, I used aluminum muffin cups in my muffin tins, and sprayed them well with non-stick spray, and the puffs come right out, no sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Man these things are good but you can tell by looking at them that they are not good for you! Can't even tell the cottage cheese-which surprised me. These are rich, and you can see the grease. I followed the recipe. They did stick some and I even coated the pan-which surprised me. If you can look beyond the unhealthful factor-these are tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These were fabulous (with a few modifications)! I did not mix these up the night before - I don't know what the advantage would be. This is a quick breakfast dish already. First, 1/4 cup of butter is all that is needed. Secondly, 2 cups of shredded cheddar/monterey jack cheese is a better amount. I can't imagine this with more cheese than that. I used diced ham and sprinkled some freeze dried chives on the tops before baking for extra flavor & color. A note on pans - for one tray, I used my Pampered Chef stoneware muffin pan (still sprayed with Pam) and they puffed up beautifully & came out perfect. My other pan, an old non-stick sprayed with Pam - didn't come out as puffy, or as easily. I will buy a 2nd stoneware pan now! Thanks for the yummy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
delicious. Omitted the butter and did use only half the amount of cheese listed. Also used shredded gouda, cause i didnt have the other cheese at hand. I kept eating them for both lunch and breakfast. they were a bit too salty tho, will use a bit less bacon next time. I also used a silicone pan for them. No sticking and cleans up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Delicious! Made them for Christmas brunch and everyone came back for more. The 2nd time I made them, however, I completely eliminated the butter and actually preferred them that way--they seemed fluffier and less greasy (and obviously were slightly healthier). Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
These were Okay. Reduced the cheese and butter in an attempt to cut some fat. The taste was good but they did stick on the bottom. Probably will not make again. If I am going to eat this much fat, I'd rather eat cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I got this recipe ages ago off this site, and this is by far my most frequently requested breakfast treat I've ever brought to work! I leave out the chiles and just use pepper jack instead of plain monterey, and (depending on who I'm making them for) may toss in a pinch of cayenne. They're not health food by any means - they kind of "unpuff" and seem to get greasy as they cool - but the guys in my office just smash 'em in a biscuit or english muffin and plow them down one after another! A real hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this for a brunch cooking club addition. It was a big hit! We're going to try it again with sausage added instead though since I suck at cooking bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I made mini and regular sized puffs. While something a little different for breakfast they weren't espeially 'amazing' as I expected from the reviews and I would only make it for my family. Thanks but I'll have to search for the 'keepers' to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States