Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for a potluck at work and everyone loved it, even if the paper cups stuck to the E&C Puffs. I heeded the advice given about leaving out the butter, only put in 2 cups of cheese and used Fat free cottage cheese. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I make these about 3x a year....I use jalapenos instead of chiles, chorizo sausage in place of pork sausage, white queso cheese in place of monterey jack and I too left out the butter. YUMMY! Great for breakfast, brunch or an appetizer (I make them in mini muffin pans and serve as an appetizer with sothwestern flavored sour cream...too good!)! I have made these as written too and they are equally good! Those that complain about fat, you can modify this SOOOO easily (no butter, ham, fat free cottage cheese, 2% ched cheese, etc..I've made this way too) and it becomes a pretty healthy dish. These aren't for everyday breakfasts/snacks anyways! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
i love these! i too left out the butter and only used half of the amount of shredded cheese. i used double the amount of chiles because i love them. my boyfriend wanted to try a bite and he ended up eating 4! he says he can't wait until tomorrow morning so he can eat more! he wants me to make them for his office!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very good recipe! Made for a brunch and they were gone in minutes! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I take this to work to share when we have morning meetings. It's always a big hit! I get asked for the recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Great recipe. My kids loved it. It makes a good quick heat and eat for the kids before they get on the bus early in the morning (of course if you make them ahead of time and put them in the fridge and just reheat. I left out the chili peppers but otherwise I made them following the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I have had this recipe for about 6 years and been using it. We love it, I just had to join to write a review. I take these to work sometimes and people mug me for them! Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe, though I consider it 'mine' now, hope you don't mind! LOL (;
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These are great for an easy breakfast for company or yourself! They feeze great and can be thawed in the fridge overnight and just popped in the microwave for easy warming. They are so versitile and easy to make to your liking. I usually use ham to make it even easier and add whatever veggies and cheese I have on hand. Yummy....also the butter is NOT needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Auburn, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
These little puffs are delicious and everyone at our Easter church breakfast enjoyed them. I did change it up a bit to suit my low cholesterol diet. I used canadian bacon, egg substitute, lowfat cheese and wheat flour. My pot of chives are looking great right now so I also added a handful of chopped chives which gave them a good flavor. I used mini muffin pans which are teflon coated and I also sprayed each tin with canola but they still didn't want to come out of the pans so that was a bit time consuming. After the first 3 pans I decided to use paper liners in the next 3 pans. These are the ones I took to the breakfast. They were very pretty but you had to did them out of the paper liners which wasn't the idea I had in mind. Oh well, they were still mouth watering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I've made this twice now, but I didn't exactly follow the recipe! First, and most important I think, is that the melted butter is absolutely unnecessary. I do LOVE butter, but you don't need it in these. I made these with a pound of bacon, about 8 oz of garlic Monterey Jack (from Beechwood Cheese Co.), 8 oz of sharp cheddar instead of just cheddar, and added one bunch of chopped spring onions. I didn't use the chiles so this didn't have the Southwest flavor of the original recipe, but I loved my version! I did follow the recipe otherwise, so this is a good one to alter to fit your family's tastes. Also, I used aluminum muffin cups in my muffin tins, and sprayed them well with non-stick spray, and the puffs come right out, no sticking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States