Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe makes for one of the best "egg bakes" I've ever had! I added some leftover chopped jalapeno pepper slices (from a jar), and baked the entire "puff" in a 13x9 pan. I'm not sure if it's the addition of the cottage cheese that makes this so flavorful, but we all loved this; it bakes up very rich-tasting. This would be great for a quick weeknight dinner as well. Thanks for posting this recipe; it will be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I left out the butter and bacon, and used only about a cup and a half of cheddar cheese. The recipe made 24 puffs even with less ingredients, and they cooked in about 15 minutes. I had no trouble getting them out of greased silicone cupcake pans. Best of all, they taste really good! I'm pleased that I'll now have a quick breakfast or lunch in the freezer that I can take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe. I first made it for Christmas morning last year. I am not fond of green chilis so I just grate some onion instead to zip up the flavor. I have done it both with the chilis as well as using ham or other meat. It is always good. I also play with the cheese, everything from cheddar to cut up small chunks of cream cheese instead of cottage cheese. Always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
These were a little too "heavy," according to my husband. I made them for him to have something quick to grab for breakfast. He's not used to eating so much fat (bacon) and butter. They tasted pretty good, but kind of greasy. And they stuck to the paper muffin cup liners... so next time I would use just the aluminum foil liners, perhaps sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I made a half-recipe of this last night. The husband rated it 5-stars, but I'm going to give it 4 because of modifications I will make. In an attempt to make the recipe a wee bit healthier, I substituted a few egg whites for some of the whole eggs. I used 2% cheese. I reduced both the salt and amount of bacon. Due to picky child, I omitted the peppers, but added a sprinkle of garlic powder for some extra flavor. Both my husband and daughter REALLY enjoyed it! I thought it was good, too, but will use less of the butter (Smart Balance for us!) and further reduce the salt next time. My husband enjoys sausage, so I might try that next time. And we both think the peppers would be yummy in it, so I'll probably make a few without (for the child), and then add the peppers to the remaining batter for us. I used silicone cups with a little spray of Smart Balance. They popped right out no problem at all. Thanks so much for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Took this tailgating and all 30 people loved it. I used an 8 ounce bag of shredded cheedar cheese and added onions. I reduced the butter to 1/4 cup and used a greased 9 x 13 pan. I served with salsa sauce and sour cream. I had to cook it for 60 minutes. I precooked it the day before and reheated it. It is a perfect cook ahead dish. I am taking it again next weekend. Thanks Karen for a wonderful receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
These were amazing! I mixed them up the night before (which was perfect because I had little to do with them the next day while getting two kids ready for school!), and I did make a few changes to them because of what I had on hand. I used turkey bacon rather than pork to cut some of the fat and calories; I also used a chopped up jalapeno in place of the diced green chilis (since I didn't have any) and added to it also about a T of chopped cilantro and about 3 chopped green onions. I used the reccommended amount of cottage cheese but halved the amount of monterey jack. The result was delicious and full of flavor, great topped with homemade pico de gallo, and I will be making these again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
These were awesome, I made them for a baby shower and I had none left over!! everyone was asking me for the recipe. It is a little greasy, next time i will Omit the butter, and use half the cheese as it was a little too much. as another healthy substitution i will use half whole eggs and half egg whites. So great and I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this recipe for brunch one day. We enjoyed it, but I would change a few things if I were to make it again. First of all, I would use paper muffin cups to line the pan because, even with greasing, these were fairly difficult to remove from the pan. I would also use a cheese with a little more kick, like a sharp cheddar or even a chipotle cheddar. I would also replace the peppers with jalapenos or something spicier. However this is all just personal preference. While good, it was a bit bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I brought these into the office for a co-workers birthday breakfast, and they went like hotcakes! I substituted turkey bacon, and topped off each puff with chopped scallions before baking. I found that they needed slightly more cooking time than recommended in the recipe - about 35 minutes to brown on top. My only complaint was that between the bacon, the cheese and the extra salt, they got a little TOO salty. Next time I'll only add a dusting, not the full 1/2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheInfamousNicoletta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States