Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Hmm! I made this for breakfast this morning. I made a few changes and it still turned out great (I plan on buying the correct ingredients and making a full batch to freeze). First off I made 1/4 batch, because it's just me. Second, I didn't have cottage cheese so I used plain yogurt and shredded parmesean (recipe called for 1/2 cup so I used 1/2 cup of each). Then I cubed up some feta cheese and threw that in too. I also don't like spicy, so instead of the peppers I used San Francisco mixed veggies (green beans, peppers, onions, broccoli). Finally I used whole wheat flour and I didn't have muffin tins so I made it as a loaf. It turned out great, fluffy and delicious, I can't wait to try it with cottage cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made these with egg substitute and lowfat cottage cheese. I did bake them in paper muffin liners. I would recommend baking them without liners or with aluminum liners, and I would spray the liners with cooking spray next time so the egg doesn't stick to them. The liners softened too much and couldn't support the puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Originally only made this recipe to use up the cottage cheese in my fridge. I was surprised at how good they were. My 5 and 6 year old couldnt stop gobbling them up. Only thing I will do different next time is to leave out the chilies. They picked them out. Otherwise, great recipe and freezes well for on the go breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I used about half the called for butter, but will also leave it out next time. I think they will be better and not as moist without the butter. I used green peppers and ham as substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is my husband's favorite breakfast treat. I've shared it with others for fabulous potlucks and even a Christmas brunch. Always popular and super-easy to make! I've never had a problem with them sticking, which is odd given that so many people have complained of sticking. I do use butter-flavored cooking spray to lightly grease my non-stick muffin pans, though. And I use a spoon to sort of edge around each puff to loosen it from the pan edges. If you want a little green but don't care for the canned chiles, you can use chopped fresh baby spinach or parsley. I also substitute diced ham for the bacon most times. I use 8 oz of shredded Mexican blend cheese in the mix and then about another 4 oz on top. After accidentally forgetting to add the melted butter once, I've now omitted butter from the recipe altogether. It doesn't need it. You could probably add anything you would throw into an omelette to tailor these to your liking. Just make sure you dice or shred pretty small. Anything too big or heavy will sink to the bottom and not mix properly while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I've made this several times since I found the recipe and it is always a hit. My favorite was in a 13x9 baking pan instead of the muffin cups. I omit the salt, use 3/4 of the butter and turkey bacon to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe makes for one of the best "egg bakes" I've ever had! I added some leftover chopped jalapeno pepper slices (from a jar), and baked the entire "puff" in a 13x9 pan. I'm not sure if it's the addition of the cottage cheese that makes this so flavorful, but we all loved this; it bakes up very rich-tasting. This would be great for a quick weeknight dinner as well. Thanks for posting this recipe; it will be a regular for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I left out the butter and bacon, and used only about a cup and a half of cheddar cheese. The recipe made 24 puffs even with less ingredients, and they cooked in about 15 minutes. I had no trouble getting them out of greased silicone cupcake pans. Best of all, they taste really good! I'm pleased that I'll now have a quick breakfast or lunch in the freezer that I can take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This is a great recipe. I first made it for Christmas morning last year. I am not fond of green chilis so I just grate some onion instead to zip up the flavor. I have done it both with the chilis as well as using ham or other meat. It is always good. I also play with the cheese, everything from cheddar to cut up small chunks of cream cheese instead of cottage cheese. Always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
These were a little too "heavy," according to my husband. I made them for him to have something quick to grab for breakfast. He's not used to eating so much fat (bacon) and butter. They tasted pretty good, but kind of greasy. And they stuck to the paper muffin cup liners... so next time I would use just the aluminum foil liners, perhaps sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Individual Baked Eggs

Use a muffin tin to make simple baked egg, bacon, and cheese "muffins."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States