Egg and Cheese Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This was really good. I used Southwestern flavored Eggbeaters in lieu of the eggs. In the end, the flavor was superb but the eggbeaters stuck to my muffin papers and then later sunk. I don't know if the Eggbeaters caused this problem or not but I will make again without using the muffin paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These are AWESOME! We found this recipe a few years ago when planning a grandparents day breakfast. It's now what we make for that occasion each year + christmas morning breakfast + any other special a.m. occasion -- all in the family (from father in law to kids) love these!! You will not regret making these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This wasn't quite to my expectations. It really stuck to the muffin papers and sank almost as soon as they were out of the oven. I might try this recipe again in an 11x7 dish, but it seemed strange to be eating them like muffins. The flavor was pretty good though. Our guests liked them, but I was on the fence. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Quite good!! In my ongoing attempt to sneak in veggies where I can, I added some finely diced broccoli crowns (saying it was spices), and replaced the chilis with finely sliced green onions. I also substituted the bacon with veggie bacon, used half the butter and half the shredded cheese, and whole wheat flour in place of regular, and it was all a wonderful combination! I made a mix in a regular muffin tin and a mini-muffin tin, and the mini-muffins were everyone's favorite. I will definitely make this again - all as minis, and play around with various mix-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Hmm! I made this for breakfast this morning. I made a few changes and it still turned out great (I plan on buying the correct ingredients and making a full batch to freeze). First off I made 1/4 batch, because it's just me. Second, I didn't have cottage cheese so I used plain yogurt and shredded parmesean (recipe called for 1/2 cup so I used 1/2 cup of each). Then I cubed up some feta cheese and threw that in too. I also don't like spicy, so instead of the peppers I used San Francisco mixed veggies (green beans, peppers, onions, broccoli). Finally I used whole wheat flour and I didn't have muffin tins so I made it as a loaf. It turned out great, fluffy and delicious, I can't wait to try it with cottage cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made these with egg substitute and lowfat cottage cheese. I did bake them in paper muffin liners. I would recommend baking them without liners or with aluminum liners, and I would spray the liners with cooking spray next time so the egg doesn't stick to them. The liners softened too much and couldn't support the puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Originally only made this recipe to use up the cottage cheese in my fridge. I was surprised at how good they were. My 5 and 6 year old couldnt stop gobbling them up. Only thing I will do different next time is to leave out the chilies. They picked them out. Otherwise, great recipe and freezes well for on the go breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I used about half the called for butter, but will also leave it out next time. I think they will be better and not as moist without the butter. I used green peppers and ham as substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minocqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is my husband's favorite breakfast treat. I've shared it with others for fabulous potlucks and even a Christmas brunch. Always popular and super-easy to make! I've never had a problem with them sticking, which is odd given that so many people have complained of sticking. I do use butter-flavored cooking spray to lightly grease my non-stick muffin pans, though. And I use a spoon to sort of edge around each puff to loosen it from the pan edges. If you want a little green but don't care for the canned chiles, you can use chopped fresh baby spinach or parsley. I also substitute diced ham for the bacon most times. I use 8 oz of shredded Mexican blend cheese in the mix and then about another 4 oz on top. After accidentally forgetting to add the melted butter once, I've now omitted butter from the recipe altogether. It doesn't need it. You could probably add anything you would throw into an omelette to tailor these to your liking. Just make sure you dice or shred pretty small. Anything too big or heavy will sink to the bottom and not mix properly while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I've made this several times since I found the recipe and it is always a hit. My favorite was in a 13x9 baking pan instead of the muffin cups. I omit the salt, use 3/4 of the butter and turkey bacon to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States