Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This cake was a huge hit. It was gone in a flash. I topped it off with a glaze made with fresh squeezed orange juice, powdered sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Moist and great on its own. It really requires no frosting. Also, it's a good way to use up egg-yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Very nice recipe. Easy to make and turned out great, the citrus flavours are easily substituted to adapt it to your taste. I've made a pina colada flavour (substituting coconut, rum and pineapple flavours) and a mocha flavour (substituting chocolate and coffee flavours) and they both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very tasty!! I wouldn't call it moist, but it certainly is good. I have left over yolk from making angel food and this is the perfect way to use it, it even tasted better than the angel food, haha.. FYI, I use 11yolks, may varied depend on the size of your eggs, but i think you'll need around 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Delicious!!! Very good. I didn't add the orange flavorings though, and it still came out excellent. Make sure to whip the egg-yolks and sugar until the mixture is very light and rises, or the result will be not as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
When I was a kid sponge cake was my favorite. My mom always made one when she made the angel food cake using only yolks. I have looked for this recipe since forever and am so glad I found it. For the one lady in England that does not have a tube pan, if you need one, take a large pan, place a heat proof glass in the center and viola, a tube pan. For those who do not like the texture of the cake, remember it is called a "sponge" cake. I am making one today using only lemon juice and rind. Yum! Thanks so much for this recipe. From the other reviews I am sure I will give this recipe a five star rating. To avoid having problems getting the cake out of the pan, line the bottom of pan with ungreased parchment paper. The paper will slide out with the cake and can then be peeled off easily. Just tear off a piece of parchment paper the width of the bottom of the pan, take a pencil or pen and draw around the bottom of the pan onto the paper, then cut the paper a little smaller than you have drawn and it should fit nicely into the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I baked this in a 9 by 13 inch pan, and the texture of the resulting cake was incredible. I didn't even add any orange flavoring. An excellent way to use up extra egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, based on the reviews here+ a sponge cake recipe in a baking book (that explains their rigorous testing methods) + my own tastes - but I kept the egg ingredients the same since I wanted to use up a whole lot of yolks! Sorry I'm not posting it as a custom version but I don't want to buy that membership! My cake turned out very well (I'd rate 5*) & got many positive comments from the eaters. Texture was just right - a bit spongy, yet light enough - not too dense. Flavor nice. I think the egg whipping is important, see below. Here goes: Total of 1 2/3 c flour, but make it up of about 2 parts cake flour and one part all-purpose flour. Same baking powder and salt as recipe, same sifting together instructions. Same quantity of eggs, but: Separate the whole egg, add its yolk to the others. Whip up the egg white to soft peaks, set aside. Now, spend a LOT of time whipping the yolks, like 10 minutes, til they're REALLY lovely, light, and pale colored. Fold in the whipped egg white. Same amount of sugar. Recipe makes it sound like you have to beat yolks and sugar together for 10 minutes - not sure about that need! Same amount of zest, orange juice. Gentle but thorough folding is probably important. I substituted orange extract for the lemon extract. I added 2 T Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) and removed 2T from the water quantity. I used room temperature water, not boiling water. Tube pan. Check for done-ness at 45 mins. Good luck - Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I worry about the amount of cholesterol in this (it took 14 yolks!), but it is very good, delicate and light-tasting. Instead of lemon flavoring, I used vanilla and a pinch of chocolate powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I'm really sorry to leave a negative review but everything about this recipe fails. I went against my better judgement in following a recipe that calls for adding boiling water to beaten egg yolks, which "cooked" them and killed the leavening agent before it even went into the oven. I followed the recipe exactly (I understand the importance of careful beating and folding.) However, the cake didn't rise, was beyond spongy (rubbery) had so-so flavor (could have benefited from vanilla or almond in addition to the orange zest and lemon extract.) and was over baked at 60 minutes. I come from a long line of bakers and will stick with the trusted sponge cake recipes handed down from my grandmothers in the future, none of which is any more difficult than this. I'm annoyed with myself for wasting all the ingredients on this one. My husband took one bite and said it wasn't worth eating. I ate a small piece and saved a slice for my mom (a professional baker) who guessed just what was wrong without my telling her about the recipe instructions. We both agree this is an inferior sponge cake. The biggest problem is the boiling water dumped into the egg yolks and leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States