Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
Moist and great on its own. It really requires no frosting. Also, it's a good way to use up egg-yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2003
This came out great. The perfect sponge cake for fruit and cream or whatever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This cake was a huge hit. It was gone in a flash. I topped it off with a glaze made with fresh squeezed orange juice, powdered sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I was so uncertain about this cake but it turned out really great. I am amazed. truly good cake and a great way to use up left over egg yolks from your angel food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Very nice recipe. Easy to make and turned out great, the citrus flavours are easily substituted to adapt it to your taste. I've made a pina colada flavour (substituting coconut, rum and pineapple flavours) and a mocha flavour (substituting chocolate and coffee flavours) and they both tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Comox, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I used the leftover yolks from the eggs I used for an angle food cake. This cake has a good flavor and a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Thanks for the recipe, Carol. Very good cake. Mine unfortunately stuck to my pan a bit, so next time I will grease the pan although the recipe says to use an ungreased pan. Other than a little sticking, the cake turned out well and is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I worry about the amount of cholesterol in this (it took 14 yolks!), but it is very good, delicate and light-tasting. Instead of lemon flavoring, I used vanilla and a pinch of chocolate powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have been using tons of egg whites on a new diet so I had a lot of egg yolks left over. This cake turned out great - or at least that is what everyone tells me because I didn't taste it - everyone else can get fat! LOL I glazed it with an orange glaze. Eat up piggies ! I hear it's a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
baked this in a loaf pan instead of tube pan, turn out ok. very mediocre recipe, not worth the time or effort. have better ways of using my egg yolks. disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States