Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very tasty!! I wouldn't call it moist, but it certainly is good. I have left over yolk from making angel food and this is the perfect way to use it, it even tasted better than the angel food, haha.. FYI, I use 11yolks, may varied depend on the size of your eggs, but i think you'll need around 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is the perfect recipe to accompany angel food cake making. It is excellent. If you don't over bake, it makes a great roulade type cake. Perfect just the way the recipe is or leave out the citrus and just add extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Excellent! Was not as orangy as I anticipated but of course adjustments can be made for that! However, with the orange glaze (which my friend garnished with orange slices and orange zest) added a bit more orange taste to the whole ensemble and the cake was wonderful. susan and talia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Hi! I treid this recipe after making mirangues yesterday and being left with egg yolks.It turned out lovely! It took longer to cook than recipe said but in UK we don't have a 'tube' tin so I used a loaf tin thinking this would be similar.I would suggest that anyone who gave a bad review didn't follow the recipe to the letter as I could tell how important all the beating of the eggs and sugar is. Needs Patience!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Light, sweet and delicious, I found this when I was looking for a dairy-free recipe and was blown away. Every bit as good as a normal cake I was able to enjoy this dessert depite a restricted diet. It also went really well with the meringue frosting I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I'm glad I found this recipe. It's good recipe to use up left over egg yolks from making angel food cake. Mine got a little dry, I must have left it longer that it should. Next time I will keep an eye on it. I used it as a base for a charlotte. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
The cake was pretty simple to make, two stars for that. However, the taste is another story, it was horrible. The texture of the cake was rubbery like a previous reviewer said. The cake was hard and very dry. I tried to add some liquid down into the cake, and it didnt help much. A big disappointment and waste of supplies. Wouldnt make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Delicious!!! Very good. I didn't add the orange flavorings though, and it still came out excellent. Make sure to whip the egg-yolks and sugar until the mixture is very light and rises, or the result will be not as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Ugh, I made this cake to use up the egg yolks left over from my Martha Stewart Coconut Cake (terrific by the way!) but my end result was inedible. I folded in the ingredients as gently as I could, but my two cakes were nothing close to light, fluffy or spongey. Cakes were like rubbery overcooked eggs and did not rise much. Taste is so-so, nothing to rave about. Don't waste your yolks on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this tonight for my ladies Bible Study tomorrow. Just had to have a taste. Wonderful! I used Splenda that also has part sugar for baking. I know the ladies will enjoy it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States