Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
The cake was pretty simple to make, two stars for that. However, the taste is another story, it was horrible. The texture of the cake was rubbery like a previous reviewer said. The cake was hard and very dry. I tried to add some liquid down into the cake, and it didnt help much. A big disappointment and waste of supplies. Wouldnt make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Delicious!!! Very good. I didn't add the orange flavorings though, and it still came out excellent. Make sure to whip the egg-yolks and sugar until the mixture is very light and rises, or the result will be not as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
Ugh, I made this cake to use up the egg yolks left over from my Martha Stewart Coconut Cake (terrific by the way!) but my end result was inedible. I folded in the ingredients as gently as I could, but my two cakes were nothing close to light, fluffy or spongey. Cakes were like rubbery overcooked eggs and did not rise much. Taste is so-so, nothing to rave about. Don't waste your yolks on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this tonight for my ladies Bible Study tomorrow. Just had to have a taste. Wonderful! I used Splenda that also has part sugar for baking. I know the ladies will enjoy it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
Great way to use up the egg yolks from angel food cake. This cake is delicious served with whipped cream and peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I baked this in a 9 by 13 inch pan, and the texture of the resulting cake was incredible. I didn't even add any orange flavoring. An excellent way to use up extra egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
baked this in a loaf pan instead of tube pan, turn out ok. very mediocre recipe, not worth the time or effort. have better ways of using my egg yolks. disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I have been using tons of egg whites on a new diet so I had a lot of egg yolks left over. This cake turned out great - or at least that is what everyone tells me because I didn't taste it - everyone else can get fat! LOL I glazed it with an orange glaze. Eat up piggies ! I hear it's a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
I worry about the amount of cholesterol in this (it took 14 yolks!), but it is very good, delicate and light-tasting. Instead of lemon flavoring, I used vanilla and a pinch of chocolate powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
Thanks for the recipe, Carol. Very good cake. Mine unfortunately stuck to my pan a bit, so next time I will grease the pan although the recipe says to use an ungreased pan. Other than a little sticking, the cake turned out well and is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States