Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Very good way to use up the egg-yolks that you don't use when you make angel-food cake. I did not make this orange flavored, I used vanilla, butter, and almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
When I was a kid sponge cake was my favorite. My mom always made one when she made the angel food cake using only yolks. I have looked for this recipe since forever and am so glad I found it. For the one lady in England that does not have a tube pan, if you need one, take a large pan, place a heat proof glass in the center and viola, a tube pan. For those who do not like the texture of the cake, remember it is called a "sponge" cake. I am making one today using only lemon juice and rind. Yum! Thanks so much for this recipe. From the other reviews I am sure I will give this recipe a five star rating. To avoid having problems getting the cake out of the pan, line the bottom of pan with ungreased parchment paper. The paper will slide out with the cake and can then be peeled off easily. Just tear off a piece of parchment paper the width of the bottom of the pan, take a pencil or pen and draw around the bottom of the pan onto the paper, then cut the paper a little smaller than you have drawn and it should fit nicely into the tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I liked this recipe, especially for its simplicity and low calories count! I love the orange flavor of it--not too much to overpower the cake, but enough to taste. We ate the cake last night without adding anything to it, and it was delicious. I was surprised by the texture of the cake though; but I'm wondering if I did something to it. It was slightly dense and a little chewy. I guess I expected more airiness to it. But the flavor is right on. I will definitely make again and add whipped cream and berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefsDaughter
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This cake is amazing! Even my husband who's not a fan of sponge cake loved this. The recipe is perfect as written and so easy to make. I had to substitute the lemon extract with almond because that was all I had and it was delicious. The almond combined with the orange was wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I really enjoyed this cake. I always have egg yolks left over since i bake a lot and wanted a way to use of my leftover egg yolks and not let them go away. I served this just with some powder sugar sifted over it. My entire family loved it! This cake is great with a cup of coffee, tea, or milk. The only difference i had was that my cake finished baking in 50 minutes! Will definitely use this recipe whenever i have leftover yolks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I've made this cake multiple times (every time I make the Heavenly Angel Food Cake)and my husband, friends, and myself really like it. Tastes like a really good fortune cookie, a little eggy taste too. Top with strawberries or raspberries. Note: I make the cake using organic sugar, which is not a fine grain sugar. The top of the cake always falls off when inverted upside down for cooling. I'm guessing this is the sugar,but cake is great any way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made it exactly how it called for, really I had a bunch of egg yolks leftover from making angel food cake and I didn't want to waste them so I gave this a try. All of my guests agreed that this was just "OK" and no one went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The recipe is a good one! I didn't use any citrus flavorings, but only flavored the cake with a teaspoon or so of vanilla. And YES, this truly does come out being nearly the same texture as a usual sponge cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This cake was pretty good. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used vanilla instead and it really brought out the orange flavor. We didn't use any frosting, just a little powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I used a spring-form pan. The crust was a little chewy so I will bake it for less time next time. Great way to use egg yolks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It had the most awful smell ever. I don't know what I did wrong, but I followed the recipe, it was spongey, but it smelled like a dirty sock and tasted even worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States