Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I made it exactly how it called for, really I had a bunch of egg yolks leftover from making angel food cake and I didn't want to waste them so I gave this a try. All of my guests agreed that this was just "OK" and no one went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
The recipe is a good one! I didn't use any citrus flavorings, but only flavored the cake with a teaspoon or so of vanilla. And YES, this truly does come out being nearly the same texture as a usual sponge cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This cake was pretty good. I didn't have any lemon extract, so I used vanilla instead and it really brought out the orange flavor. We didn't use any frosting, just a little powdered sugar sprinkled on top. I used a spring-form pan. The crust was a little chewy so I will bake it for less time next time. Great way to use egg yolks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
It had the most awful smell ever. I don't know what I did wrong, but I followed the recipe, it was spongey, but it smelled like a dirty sock and tasted even worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very tasty!! I wouldn't call it moist, but it certainly is good. I have left over yolk from making angel food and this is the perfect way to use it, it even tasted better than the angel food, haha.. FYI, I use 11yolks, may varied depend on the size of your eggs, but i think you'll need around 10-12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cajoeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This is the perfect recipe to accompany angel food cake making. It is excellent. If you don't over bake, it makes a great roulade type cake. Perfect just the way the recipe is or leave out the citrus and just add extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Excellent! Was not as orangy as I anticipated but of course adjustments can be made for that! However, with the orange glaze (which my friend garnished with orange slices and orange zest) added a bit more orange taste to the whole ensemble and the cake was wonderful. susan and talia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Hi! I treid this recipe after making mirangues yesterday and being left with egg yolks.It turned out lovely! It took longer to cook than recipe said but in UK we don't have a 'tube' tin so I used a loaf tin thinking this would be similar.I would suggest that anyone who gave a bad review didn't follow the recipe to the letter as I could tell how important all the beating of the eggs and sugar is. Needs Patience!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Q

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Light, sweet and delicious, I found this when I was looking for a dairy-free recipe and was blown away. Every bit as good as a normal cake I was able to enjoy this dessert depite a restricted diet. It also went really well with the meringue frosting I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
I'm glad I found this recipe. It's good recipe to use up left over egg yolks from making angel food cake. Mine got a little dry, I must have left it longer that it should. Next time I will keep an eye on it. I used it as a base for a charlotte. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States