Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
very flavorful, made it to use egg yolks left from making an angel food cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was a great cake!! The only thing I would do is reduce the amount sugar...its a little too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Deliciousss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is the perfect match to it's egg white counter-part angel food cake. I have a lot of chickens, who produce a lot of eggs. When my egg sales are slow, I make several angel food cakes to put in the freezer. I absolutely hated throwing out the yolks. I am tickled now that I don't have to!! Thanks so much. Oh, by the way, the cake is awesome, and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, based on the reviews here+ a sponge cake recipe in a baking book (that explains their rigorous testing methods) + my own tastes - but I kept the egg ingredients the same since I wanted to use up a whole lot of yolks! Sorry I'm not posting it as a custom version but I don't want to buy that membership! My cake turned out very well (I'd rate 5*) & got many positive comments from the eaters. Texture was just right - a bit spongy, yet light enough - not too dense. Flavor nice. I think the egg whipping is important, see below. Here goes: Total of 1 2/3 c flour, but make it up of about 2 parts cake flour and one part all-purpose flour. Same baking powder and salt as recipe, same sifting together instructions. Same quantity of eggs, but: Separate the whole egg, add its yolk to the others. Whip up the egg white to soft peaks, set aside. Now, spend a LOT of time whipping the yolks, like 10 minutes, til they're REALLY lovely, light, and pale colored. Fold in the whipped egg white. Same amount of sugar. Recipe makes it sound like you have to beat yolks and sugar together for 10 minutes - not sure about that need! Same amount of zest, orange juice. Gentle but thorough folding is probably important. I substituted orange extract for the lemon extract. I added 2 T Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) and removed 2T from the water quantity. I used room temperature water, not boiling water. Tube pan. Check for done-ness at 45 mins. Good luck - Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Just ok....needed to do something with my egg yolks after making an angel food cake.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I'm really sorry to leave a negative review but everything about this recipe fails. I went against my better judgement in following a recipe that calls for adding boiling water to beaten egg yolks, which "cooked" them and killed the leavening agent before it even went into the oven. I followed the recipe exactly (I understand the importance of careful beating and folding.) However, the cake didn't rise, was beyond spongy (rubbery) had so-so flavor (could have benefited from vanilla or almond in addition to the orange zest and lemon extract.) and was over baked at 60 minutes. I come from a long line of bakers and will stick with the trusted sponge cake recipes handed down from my grandmothers in the future, none of which is any more difficult than this. I'm annoyed with myself for wasting all the ingredients on this one. My husband took one bite and said it wasn't worth eating. I ate a small piece and saved a slice for my mom (a professional baker) who guessed just what was wrong without my telling her about the recipe instructions. We both agree this is an inferior sponge cake. The biggest problem is the boiling water dumped into the egg yolks and leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent Cake! I just used a little over 1 cup of sugar and that was sweet enough. I substituted vanilla extract for the lemon and didn't have orange zest. Oh, my cake was done after about 30 minutes on 325 F. If I let it cook for another 30 minutes, it would have burned! So, keep an eye on your cake and toothpick test it after about 25 minutes. It is really good and a great way to use the egg yolks! I made a lemon glaze and drizzled on top once cooled. Lemon glaze: 1 cup of powdered sugar and 3 Tbl lemon juice. Mix well and drizzle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I decided to try a different egg-yolk recipe than my mother uses, and I think I'll stick with Mom's. I found the crumb to be too course. The taste was OK, but the texture left much to be disired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maggipot
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
excellent way to use up egg yolks. slightly sweet but moist enough for a cake that doesn't use butter. I would recommend you follow the instructions for beating the eggs thoroughly and fold the batter as lightly as possible.. otherwise the cake can be a bit rubbery as some reviews were complaining about. I had mine with citrus cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggipot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States