Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I thought it was great! Glad to be able to use 12 egg yolks! Per recommendations, image sue to whip eggs for 10 minutes, at least. I also added only 1 14 cups sugar. It was light and just as a sponge cake should be. I used very hot water and drizzled it as I folded batter with spatula. It was half eaten after I put it on the plate, and by 3 of us! Might use lemon zest and lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnT
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Turned out BEAUTIFULLY - with some changes. Photo posted. I used a KitchenAid stand mixer for the mixing process which can make all the difference. I used almost boiling water that I TRICKLED down the inside of the bowl as the mixer is on low. I used CAKE flour. I skipped the OJ and lemon and instead used 1 tsp of orange zest - although 1 tablespoon would have been good, too. I also used 1/2 tsp of orange extract. Oh, and I didn't "fold" anything. I just changed the KitchenAid speed (paddle attachment) to fit my needs. I baked at 325 for 45 minutes and turned cake, still in bundt pan, upside down on a wire rack to cool until skin temperature. This cake rises to fill a 10x4 inch (real) bundt pan in the oven. It has been about six hours since taking the cake out of the oven and the "eggy taste" has diminished quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is very yummy. Made it for a birthday party along side another cake and they had another one there as well. Long story short, all cakes turned out weapons in a food fight that got out of control. This one however, was picked up from the floor by anyone who found a big piece because everyone who got a piece in their mouth and tasted it started saying it was very good. I was asked to make another one for our next get together and was promised it would be tucked away until all the games were done and over with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velazquez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the batter looked and tasted wonderful, but what a disappointment. It was like rubber. It fell in the middle and was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
very flavorful, made it to use egg yolks left from making an angel food cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was a great cake!! The only thing I would do is reduce the amount sugar...its a little too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Deliciousss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This is the perfect match to it's egg white counter-part angel food cake. I have a lot of chickens, who produce a lot of eggs. When my egg sales are slow, I make several angel food cakes to put in the freezer. I absolutely hated throwing out the yolks. I am tickled now that I don't have to!! Thanks so much. Oh, by the way, the cake is awesome, and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made quite a few changes to this recipe, based on the reviews here+ a sponge cake recipe in a baking book (that explains their rigorous testing methods) + my own tastes - but I kept the egg ingredients the same since I wanted to use up a whole lot of yolks! Sorry I'm not posting it as a custom version but I don't want to buy that membership! My cake turned out very well (I'd rate 5*) & got many positive comments from the eaters. Texture was just right - a bit spongy, yet light enough - not too dense. Flavor nice. I think the egg whipping is important, see below. Here goes: Total of 1 2/3 c flour, but make it up of about 2 parts cake flour and one part all-purpose flour. Same baking powder and salt as recipe, same sifting together instructions. Same quantity of eggs, but: Separate the whole egg, add its yolk to the others. Whip up the egg white to soft peaks, set aside. Now, spend a LOT of time whipping the yolks, like 10 minutes, til they're REALLY lovely, light, and pale colored. Fold in the whipped egg white. Same amount of sugar. Recipe makes it sound like you have to beat yolks and sugar together for 10 minutes - not sure about that need! Same amount of zest, orange juice. Gentle but thorough folding is probably important. I substituted orange extract for the lemon extract. I added 2 T Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) and removed 2T from the water quantity. I used room temperature water, not boiling water. Tube pan. Check for done-ness at 45 mins. Good luck - Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Just ok....needed to do something with my egg yolks after making an angel food cake.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States