Egg-Yolk Sponge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Quite a different recipe - I'm not a huge cake-maker and was intrigued by the use of egg yolks (which I had leftover from making French macarons) and boiling water. I was also worried by the low ratings stating that the boiling water cooked the eggs during mixing, but I didn't have that problem at all - I'm wondering if reviewers experiencing this perhaps didn't beat the eggs long enough. The final texture is a little chewy but very tasty, with good crumb on the inside, a bit like a dense angel food cake. I didn't have orange juice so subbed lemon juice and added a 1/2 tsp of fiori di sicilia (orange/vanilla extract) instead of the lemon extract. The flavour of this combination is gorgeous. I don't have a tube pan so used an ungreased non-stick bundt pan, and it turned out fine (just like my angel food cake does in the same pan).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wonk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I used vanilla extract instead of lemon (I had a hunch that the lemon on top of orange juice and orange zest would be citrus overkill. To each his own, right?). Despite all the alarm bells going off at adding hot water to an egg yolk mixture, I followed the directions to a T (y'know, except that extract bit... and I used a spring-form instead of a tube pan), and the results were a fluffy tower of cakey goodness that made my apartment smell like a confection wonderland. It tasted very light, not eggy at all. My only complaint is that it will be gone too soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Childers Crawford
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe... I followed most of the directions/ingredients, but didn't use orange zest, and just doubled lemon extract. I topped it with a glaze made of 2 cups powdered sugar and 1/4 cup orange juice. A perfect way to use the yolks left from making an Angel Food Cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I had a lot of egg yolks leftover after making a white cake and Swiss meringue buttercream. I made cupcakes and frosted them with the extra buttercream. Huge Hit! The citrus flavor was prefect and I shared the recipe with at least 3 mothers who attended the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Punker64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I did not have 3/4 C of egg yolks, so added two extra eggs. Also, it is really important to beat the sugar and eggs for 10 minutes in order to get the right consistency. It still turned out well and freezes beautifully. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I make this all the time now because I also love to make Angel Cake which uses all egg whites. Now I can use the egg yolks for this. I spead warmed raspberry jam on this cake and when the jam is cool, I sprinkle with coconut. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I thought it was great! Glad to be able to use 12 egg yolks! Per recommendations, image sue to whip eggs for 10 minutes, at least. I also added only 1 14 cups sugar. It was light and just as a sponge cake should be. I used very hot water and drizzled it as I folded batter with spatula. It was half eaten after I put it on the plate, and by 3 of us! Might use lemon zest and lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trio
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Turned out BEAUTIFULLY - with some changes. Photo posted. I used a KitchenAid stand mixer for the mixing process which can make all the difference. I used almost boiling water that I TRICKLED down the inside of the bowl as the mixer is on low. I used CAKE flour. I skipped the OJ and lemon and instead used 1 tsp of orange zest - although 1 tablespoon would have been good, too. I also used 1/2 tsp of orange extract. Oh, and I didn't "fold" anything. I just changed the KitchenAid speed (paddle attachment) to fit my needs. I baked at 325 for 45 minutes and turned cake, still in bundt pan, upside down on a wire rack to cool until skin temperature. This cake rises to fill a 10x4 inch (real) bundt pan in the oven. It has been about six hours since taking the cake out of the oven and the "eggy taste" has diminished quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This is very yummy. Made it for a birthday party along side another cake and they had another one there as well. Long story short, all cakes turned out weapons in a food fight that got out of control. This one however, was picked up from the floor by anyone who found a big piece because everyone who got a piece in their mouth and tasted it started saying it was very good. I was asked to make another one for our next get together and was promised it would be tucked away until all the games were done and over with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velazquez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and the batter looked and tasted wonderful, but what a disappointment. It was like rubber. It fell in the middle and was a waste of time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States