Egg White Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I just made this mayo and I couldn't believe my tastebuds! The taste and texture are just like the store bought version (similiar to Hellmann's). I am so happy to have found this recipe! The mayo found here in Germany is not like the real stuff back home. This is the closest I will ever get. I used what I had on hand, substituting prepared yellow mustard for the mustard powder (I kept the same quantity), and sunflower oil for the vegetable oil. This recipe was quick and easy to make with outstanding results. I had my parents taste test it with the following verdict: my dad and I really liked it and both agreed that it is just like the stuff you buy at the store, but my mom, on the other hand, thought that it had too much lemon. So I would recommend adjusting the lemon flavour to your own taste. Thanks, Jillena, for this wonderful recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I was thrilled to find this recipe! I wanted a healthier version of mayo, but don't care for the healthier store versions. In reading the other reviews, I was cautious about the lemon juice, so I added 1 tsp at a time. I actually liked the 2tsp. I used stevia(trying to cut out sugar) and canola oil. Next time, I plan to try olive oil. When I took it out of the blender(mine's not the best of blenders), the mayo was a bit lumpy. I stirred it a bit with a whisk and it turned out nice and smooth. Best of all, it tastes great:) Will certainly make again. Thanks for sharing!****Don't waste your time trying to make with olive oil...it'll turn out bitter...trust me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! I am on an iodine restricted diet and was looking for an egg white mayo recipe. I have shared your recipe with others on the same diet and we thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I have tried a couple other recipes, but this is pretty close to Hellman's, which is my favorite mayo. It was super easy and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBE8FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Great recipe! I tried making this in my blender; however, the consistency was too clumpy (I have a high-capacity Kitchen Aid blender). I started over and just used my electric hand mixer, and the consistency was exactly like store bought. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This did not work out for me- probably because my blender only knows one speed- liquefy. Mine came out separated, not smooth like it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I just made this and it worked great! I'm alergic to egg yokes and lemons, so I was looking for a recipe that did not require yokes. I substituted lime juice for the lemon juice and used Macadamia nut oil. The lime is not as strong as lemon, so maybe next time I will use a little bit more....but very happy with the results. I made this in my Kitchen Aid food processor (which I have reviewed on Amazon.com" - it's a terrible food processor - don't buy it! But I was able to make it work by using a piece of scotch tape over the drip hole - I simple put a tiny hole in the scotch take and it worked beautifully, and effortlessly! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I will never buy mayo from the store again (they're all full of soy anyway - another alergy item).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Great for baking or mixing into Egg Salad. I used extra virgin olive oil which gave it an oily tast. But was perfect and much more healthy then store brand for my egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I recently became allergic to egg yolk due to "bird egg syndrome"-- totally weird thing.... anyway! I love mayo and cannot have uncooked egg yolk (not even scrambled egss!)--- I JUST made this. It took about 30 seconds and is absolutely delicious. Takes and looks just like mayonaise. I didn't even use mustard powder. Pumped to put this on a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Great recipe. Made it in my Cuisinart food processor, and it was super fast and easy! I had made homemade eggnog for my son, so I had 10 egg whites that I need to use up and was out of mayo. This was the only mayo recipe I found that used only the egg white. May try it with olive oil next time and see how we like that. Well one egg white down, 9 to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States