Egg-White Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
These were just okay. Texture was fine, but the flavor was very bland! I feel like crepes should be delicious by themselves. I did try these a second time using butter for the oil (butter is actually less calories--just the fat is saturated) and a whole egg (the yolk has vitamins B & D, and iron). The crepes were much better, but I am going to have to tweak the recipe some more to get a nice flavor. I really like the concept of using whole wheat for that extra nutritional punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I tried this recipe because I had some egg whites I wanted to use but, but they stuck to the pan terribly. I tried 2 different pans (both an 8" crepe pan and a 12" non-stick skillet), tried adjusting the temperature, tried adding more/less cooking oil to the pan, but every single one stuck. I had to scrape out the bottom of the pan each time and re-apply cooking oil. They tasted ok, but every one got ripped to shreds in the process of trying to get it off the bottom of the pan and it was frustrating to cook them and they looked horrible because they were all ripped up. They did not have the proper browning on them because the browned part stuck to the pan. I've made traditional full-fat crepes a few times before and did not have this issue--those came right up and were easy to flip with no effort. I salvaged my crappy-looking crepes by using them to make a corn casserole where they were covered with sauce so their appearance didn't make much difference, but they were a real pain to cook and created extra work with having to scrape the pan each time. Next time I'll just make regular crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Quick, easy and taste great! I doubled the ingredients to make larger crepes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dangerdj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I was really craving something simple and tasty and this was just it! Very easy recipe! I added raspberry jelly on my first 3 and then ham and cheese on my fourth. Simply splendid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Way too thick. Even when I added extra milk, it still was hard to spread in the pan. It also had a bad after-taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awesomesamy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My family really enjoyed these. I bearly got one for myself they kept asking for another. Definately will make more of this for next time. I used blueberries and strawberries. sprinkled powdered sugar on the plate (for looks) then on top of the crepes and topped it with fresh whipped cream! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Great! I left out the salt and oil and they where just as good =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ti.jay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When **I** smeared them with homemade strawberry jam, I thought they were okay...but like my family said, "we'd rather treat ourselves to the real thing every couple of weeks then add this into our weekly rotation." A little stiff and just not that tasty. 3-start for making it healthy tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I left out the oil all together and made w regular white all purpose flour for lack of whole wheat and regular almond milk. Crepes themselves came to 166 calories each which really makes filling possibilities endless if you are watching calories! I did one with mixed fruit and one with scrambled egg whites and cheese. These are wonderful to make ahead and warm and fill quickly on mornings you are running out the door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliahill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Rockledge, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I replaced the oil with applesauce and filled with greek yogurt and blueberries and apples with a little cinnamon and they were amazing! Very healthy recipe and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Dessert Crepes

Watch how to make these 5-star crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States