Egg Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I loved it but I followed some of the recomendations and cut the sugar down by half and froze it for 30 seconds just cause I forgot bout letting it cool. Defintely needs more cooking time (round 10-15 minutes)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Good recipe. I didn't have butter so I used shortening. I didn't even have a rolling pin, so I just made circles using the palms of my hands - worked out fine. I ended up with 22 of them, using muffin pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
When I made this recipe, I had twice as much dough as filling, so I ended up making two batches. The first night I took the time to roll out the dough and make the individual tarts, but it took forever! However it was easier to eat and tasted great. For the second batch, I was a little bit in a hurry, so I made the mistake of not beating the eggs all the way. MAKE SURE THIS DOES NOT HAPPEN! The final product was yellow and white and tasted a little bit funny. Also for the second batch, I made one giant custard-pie instead of the individual tarts. This also tasted fine but you have to increase the baking time for a few minutes in order to cook the center, but be careful not to burn the crust. This recipe is just so perfect, and if you use a light butter for the crust, it is healthy too! Also, for both of the batches I did not have evaporated milk, so instead I melted 1 tablespoon of butter into 1/4 cup milk and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demimi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe was yummy!! I didn't think the filling was too sweet at all. I substituted confectioners sugar with caster sugar for the dough and found it tasted nicer. Also we ended up with way too much filling so I'd either make twice as much dough or half as much filling next time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Would be a great recipe with a bit of tweaking.. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup for the custard, and it wasnt sweet enough for my family. Plus, the dough isn't flaky, like the types you find in egg tarts bought from an asian bakery. I am asian, and I wasn't terribly impressed by this recipe... the pastry was easy to work with, but you should roll the pastry thinner than 1/8'', so you get more egg custard and less pastry in the tart. I'd also advise you to not take out the egg tarts immediately once they are done baking, but to open the oven door, and leave them in for a little longer. This is to keep them from deflating too quickly and cracking in the middle. I'll be working on improving this, I'm sure it can be improved a lot after a few tries, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Deliciously Asian egg tarts. Easy to bake. Cheap dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very sweet but tastes good. I have only made custard part, without the pastry - by pouring the mixture into a pan. After making this recipe a few times I've found that cutting down on the sugar doesn't change its wonderful taste. For example, I use 1/2 cup of white sugar or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This recipe was alright. I didn't feel like it had the same taste that you find in most dim sims resturants, which was what I was looking for. I also, didn't think it was very sweet like most reviewers said. I did think this recipe was easy and fairly quick. I didn't have tartlet cups so I used a muffin pan which worked. Also, I had to bake much longer then what was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
The egg tarts taste great! But the confectioners' sugar is forgotten to be mentioned in the directions! Anyway, juz mix the confectioners' sugar with the flour and salt to make the crust. Like wat the previous reviewer said, the custard is 2 sweet, so need to reduce the sugar. Other than these, this recipe is a great one for making egg tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
This recipe is good and easy to make but just to sweet, I kind of change the amount of sugar used as my family is on sugar watch... Thanks for such a wonderful recipe...most of all it is Asian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States