Egg Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dinkytink
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This was ok. It was impressive to make this at home, but the taste was nothing mind blowing. the crust was very hard, almost to a crisp. The custard was a little too firm, but I'm sure a little more evaporated milk would have done the trick. Will try this again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Needs nutritional information
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is excellent My family Favorited with fresh fruit and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Love the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bizzyb
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Very easy to follow. I recommend using a cookie cuter to get perfectly round tarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzyb
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I love the tart shell recipe. I use it for apple pie and my family loves it. Maybe I will attempt trying the egg filling next. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great receipe! My family enjoyed them tremedously even though I've made the crust too thin. I'll definietly make these again, with thicker crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
A good recipe for the tart crust egg tart. I cut the sugar in 1/2 and used unsalted butter. The custard took a long time to solidify, and the edges of my tarts got slightly burnt. I would make this again until I find a good recipe for the flakey layered crust type of Chinese egg tart. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is my first time making egg tarts. I used this recipe and the egg tarts turned out great! Te custard is so soft. Although it was still a little bit on the sweet side for me even after decreasing the sugar to 1/2 cup in the custard. Next time I'll try to use 1/3 cup. The recipe didn't specify if we should use unsalted or salted butter. I used salted butter and added a big pinch of salt, the crust was probably a tiny bit saltier, but still tasted great. So next time I probably won't add the extra pinch of salt and use the salted butter, since I do like the crust to be a little salty. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States