Egg Tarts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dinkytink
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
This was ok. It was impressive to make this at home, but the taste was nothing mind blowing. the crust was very hard, almost to a crisp. The custard was a little too firm, but I'm sure a little more evaporated milk would have done the trick. Will try this again with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Needs nutritional information
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This is excellent My family Favorited with fresh fruit and bananas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Love the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bizzyb
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Pretty good recipe. Very easy to follow. I recommend using a cookie cuter to get perfectly round tarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzyb
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I love the tart shell recipe. I use it for apple pie and my family loves it. Maybe I will attempt trying the egg filling next. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great receipe! My family enjoyed them tremedously even though I've made the crust too thin. I'll definietly make these again, with thicker crust next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
A good recipe for the tart crust egg tart. I cut the sugar in 1/2 and used unsalted butter. The custard took a long time to solidify, and the edges of my tarts got slightly burnt. I would make this again until I find a good recipe for the flakey layered crust type of Chinese egg tart. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is my first time making egg tarts. I used this recipe and the egg tarts turned out great! Te custard is so soft. Although it was still a little bit on the sweet side for me even after decreasing the sugar to 1/2 cup in the custard. Next time I'll try to use 1/3 cup. The recipe didn't specify if we should use unsalted or salted butter. I used salted butter and added a big pinch of salt, the crust was probably a tiny bit saltier, but still tasted great. So next time I probably won't add the extra pinch of salt and use the salted butter, since I do like the crust to be a little salty. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States