Egg Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
I just made this and it is VERY GOOD. I made as first instructed and took a taste and found it a little bland, so I did as a few others instructed and put in some mustard. (I used Dijon and about 2 tsps. That made it much better!) The olives definately gave it that extra kick that my old recipe was missing! Loved using the potato masher! Made it so creamy. Served over lettuce instead of as sandwich, as I'm not a big bread fan! I will be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ETOTARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
If you like olives you'll love this egg salad. I leave out the paprika and add a small amount of yellow mustard(only about a teaspoon). I usually dispense with the celery too. But the lettuce is a must. Don't forget to salt and pepper to taste too. I am always a lot more generous with the olives too. I've been making egg and olive salad for years. It's my favorite. When there are non-olive lovers around you can always make your favorite egg salad recipe and then add sliced or chopped olives on the sandwich instead of mixing them into the salad. I used to get egg and olive sandwiches made in a restaurant this way. It tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
I Love Egg Salad & I Love Olives but this recipe was terrible. Too much pepper & too much olive. I wasted all my eggs making a big batch of this. It was awful. I am sorry. I was so looking forward to liking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
This is an old recipe, I have been using a similar recipe from a 1959 cookbook for years (Mary Margaret McBride's Encyclopedia of Cooking): 3 eggs, 1/2 cup celery, 1 TBSP mustard, 2 TBSP mayo, 1/4-1/2 cup chopped olives. Since I work nights I have to take my lunch to work every day & I pretty much always bring either egg salad or chicken salad sandwiches. This recipe is very tasty & fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2001
This is my favorite egg salad recipe. It is the exact recipe my mother used.. and the secret IS the olives! Absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
This recipe is not good. The eggs come out way underdone. I would not recommend it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
i found this a good basic recipe to work with. You could add mustard, or celery etc to it to add some variety to it. I'm not fond of olives in the salad ( it was worth trying anyways). For myself, i would only use real mayo- i feel that miracle whip ( and other subs)would not do this recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I’m of the school of thought that when it comes to cooking season to taste! What is too salty/not enough salt, bland/bold, too peppery/needed pepper varies, depending on whose palate is doing the tasting! So…if it’s too bland, add some seasoning! I added pretty much the first thing I grabbed, some Sazon seasoning and a bit of ground mustard, tho’ any number of things I had in my spice cabinet would have worked – Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, Lawrey’s Seasoned Salt, celery Salt, garlic salt, even Montreal Steak Seasoning – and the list could go on. Seems too peppery? Again, add it to taste! Start with a small amount, add more if you like. There are no boo-boos that way. I didn’t mash the eggs; I prefer my egg salad chunkier, however… if you were going to make canapés with this, on rye rounds, for example, with a garnish of fresh dill or parsley, the mashed version would not only spread better, it would be more fitting and easier to eat as a finger food. Also, it’s no problem to add more or less mayonnaise to your liking. I didn’t measure; I just dumped it in there till it was the way I wanted it. To please both Hubs’ and my palates, I knew we’d like the bite of fresh green onion and the crunch of chopped celery, so I added both. I’ve never added green olives before (tho’ I recall adding them to AR’s “Mother-in-Law Eggs” and liking them) and, while I may not add them routinely, I did enjoy them for something different than “the usual.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a very good recipe for egg salad. The potato masher is a nice idea. I am not a big fan of green olives but they taste great in here and I think the recipe could use even a little more. Thanks Stacey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I thought it was really good. I didn't follow the instructions given to make the eggs, so I have no comment on those (I just made them the way I always make them). I think the kids will even like it because they love olives. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States