Egg Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I grew up with this as a staple from both my mother and grandmother. We always add just a touch of yellow mustard. It was made in small batches too, 2 eggs at a time usually and way less mayo. I think maybe 1 and 1/2 tsp max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Was looking for something different for egg salad and came across this recipe. Liking olives, I gave it a try. Great! I did add chopped celery as I like the flavor and added crunch. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I too love eggs, and love olives, but when I mixed the two my taste buds weren't thankfull!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I loved this egg salad. I even added a little shredded cheese the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I’m of the school of thought that when it comes to cooking season to taste! What is too salty/not enough salt, bland/bold, too peppery/needed pepper varies, depending on whose palate is doing the tasting! So…if it’s too bland, add some seasoning! I added pretty much the first thing I grabbed, some Sazon seasoning and a bit of ground mustard, tho’ any number of things I had in my spice cabinet would have worked – Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning, Jane’s Krazy Mixed Up Salt, Lawrey’s Seasoned Salt, celery Salt, garlic salt, even Montreal Steak Seasoning – and the list could go on. Seems too peppery? Again, add it to taste! Start with a small amount, add more if you like. There are no boo-boos that way. I didn’t mash the eggs; I prefer my egg salad chunkier, however… if you were going to make canapés with this, on rye rounds, for example, with a garnish of fresh dill or parsley, the mashed version would not only spread better, it would be more fitting and easier to eat as a finger food. Also, it’s no problem to add more or less mayonnaise to your liking. I didn’t measure; I just dumped it in there till it was the way I wanted it. To please both Hubs’ and my palates, I knew we’d like the bite of fresh green onion and the crunch of chopped celery, so I added both. I’ve never added green olives before (tho’ I recall adding them to AR’s “Mother-in-Law Eggs” and liking them) and, while I may not add them routinely, I did enjoy them for something different than “the usual.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
A good base, but felt it needed more spice. I added a teaspoon of paprika, doubled the black pepper, a half tsp of cajun seasonings, and a finely chopped rib of celery and a green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Love this egg salad, for both taste and cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I would have never thought of adding Spanish olives to egg salad but it was delicious! Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I tried this recipe yesterday after a craving for egg salad, no celery. I do love olives and never thought of adding any. I did add a bit of Dijon mustard and mixed with LF mayo. I served on romaine like others suggested. It was the best and no bread?? even better! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
This is the recipe I grew up eating with the exception of the paprika. If you're like me and love Spanish olives, you'll love this recipe - I always wind up popping about 4 olives into my mouth while cutting the others for the salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States