Egg Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Try This! Use 3 heaping tablespoons of mayo, 1 heaping tablespoon of mustard (any type), omit onion, maybe add pickle, and save paprika for sprinkling on the sandwich when serving. I like it served on toast. Not a bad recipe when modified a little. I was so glad to find a ratio of eggs to other ingredients here. It sure beats just trying to work magic at the kitchen counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
491 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I hate mayo so I was looking for a flavorful egg salad without a lot of mayo. I used sour cream instead of the mayo. I used 2 chopped spring onions instead of the regular onion and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a good egg salad recipe as is if you're looking for a recipe that isn't too wet. I prefer mine with a little more mayo so I made some alternations. I added more onion and used white instead of red because it is what I had, chopped 2 ribs of celery for a little more crunch, and added a few more tablespoons of mayo. I cut the eggs in large chunks and then squished it with a fork some, still chunky. I don't care if it is pink from the paprika, this salad is wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
263 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe. Do double the mayo, and add celery, and do remember that red onions come in various sizes so keep that in mind while preparing this. For this I used probably just under 1/4 cup and used an equal amount of celery. I used honey dijon and fresh dill.....yummy. Excellent on whole wheat bread with a nice piece of romaine lettuce. The teens even ate this for breakfast before school! Thanks Margret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this 2 ways one your way without the onions and my husband really liked it. The second way I added 3 tablespoons mayo and 1 celery stalk chopped up very fine,4 gherkin pickles chopped fine, 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard and 1 teaspoon paprika, 1/2 teaspoon dillweed, 1/2 teaspoon yellow mustard, a couple pinches of onion salt, a pinch of garlic salt, and a sprinkle of lawrys with black pepper. My husband loved it and my kids loved it as well. I mixed it in with bow tie pasta for the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Homemade like my mother made... awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Very tasty! I replaced the onion with celery for spice-sensitive kids, and cut down the mustard. To keep it lower fat, I also left out a couple of the egg yolks, but to maintain the creaminess I added a little plain yogurt. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
A half of an onion is WAY too much, the first time i made it i followed the recipe exactly and all you could taste is onion, so i tossed it and did it again with 2 tbsp. of mayo and about a quarter of a red onion and it was much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe as is, I made no changes. Very tasty, especially after letting it refrigerate overnight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
It was perfect. I love the dill and I did add a little more mayo, not a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States