Egg Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
Try This! Use 3 heaping tablespoons of mayo, 1 heaping tablespoon of mustard (any type), omit onion, maybe add pickle, and save paprika for sprinkling on the sandwich when serving. I like it served on toast. Not a bad recipe when modified a little. I was so glad to find a ratio of eggs to other ingredients here. It sure beats just trying to work magic at the kitchen counter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I hate mayo so I was looking for a flavorful egg salad without a lot of mayo. I used sour cream instead of the mayo. I used 2 chopped spring onions instead of the regular onion and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is a good egg salad recipe as is if you're looking for a recipe that isn't too wet. I prefer mine with a little more mayo so I made some alternations. I added more onion and used white instead of red because it is what I had, chopped 2 ribs of celery for a little more crunch, and added a few more tablespoons of mayo. I cut the eggs in large chunks and then squished it with a fork some, still chunky. I don't care if it is pink from the paprika, this salad is wonderful! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Excellent recipe. Do double the mayo, and add celery, and do remember that red onions come in various sizes so keep that in mind while preparing this. For this I used probably just under 1/4 cup and used an equal amount of celery. I used honey dijon and fresh dill.....yummy. Excellent on whole wheat bread with a nice piece of romaine lettuce. The teens even ate this for breakfast before school! Thanks Margret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I made this 2 ways one your way without the onions and my husband really liked it. The second way I added 3 tablespoons mayo and 1 celery stalk chopped up very fine,4 gherkin pickles chopped fine, 1/2 teaspoon dijon mustard and 1 teaspoon paprika, 1/2 teaspoon dillweed, 1/2 teaspoon yellow mustard, a couple pinches of onion salt, a pinch of garlic salt, and a sprinkle of lawrys with black pepper. My husband loved it and my kids loved it as well. I mixed it in with bow tie pasta for the little ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Homemade like my mother made... awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Very tasty! I replaced the onion with celery for spice-sensitive kids, and cut down the mustard. To keep it lower fat, I also left out a couple of the egg yolks, but to maintain the creaminess I added a little plain yogurt. Just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
A half of an onion is WAY too much, the first time i made it i followed the recipe exactly and all you could taste is onion, so i tossed it and did it again with 2 tbsp. of mayo and about a quarter of a red onion and it was much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe as is, I made no changes. Very tasty, especially after letting it refrigerate overnight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
It was perfect. I love the dill and I did add a little more mayo, not a lot though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States