Egg Rolls a la Paye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
i don't know what to say when people rate a recipe and change the recipe all up..this is beyond me..people give it a rest..geez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
These were great! I subbed a bag of colw slaw mix for the bean sprouts, cooking it in a little oil, along with some garlic powder, chopped green onions and all of the other ingredients, until tender. I really didn't measure anything as far as seasoning, just tasted as I went along. Also, I used frozen (thawed) salad shrimp in place of the canned, which I added in at the last minute. I was quite surprised how well these flavors all went together...I would've never thought to combine them myself, but I'm glad I tried it b/c we loved it! I got 12 out of this recipe. I will def make these again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Can you say fresh and delish...I only use shrimp, cabbage and carrots as the mix. Lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
These were pretty good. I used some left over chicken breast and precooked bacon. Didn't have any bean sprouts but cabbage was a nice substitute. Though, I did saute the cabbage in the skillet for 15 minutes or so. Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, didn't have that. My egg roll wrapper package had 15 wrappers so we made them kind of small to use all the wrappers. I really would have liked to have them a bit on the large side though. That way their not too 'doughy' tasting, if you know what I mean. Have the white of one egg in a bowl handy to seal the ends of your egg rolls towards the end of rolling the up....just use a small brush. A NEW paint brush works great (the small ones). I deep fried the egg rolls at 350 degrees for 3 minutes PER SIDE. Any longer and they'd be burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I have found a new favorite! These were absolutley delicious. My husband (who doesnt like egg rolls:) devoured them! I only had a half of one left over for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
such a great blending of flavors. will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdaisy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I couldn't make enough of these to keep the family (and the neighbors) happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I had some eggroll wrappers left from making some southwest eggrolls (yum) and thought I would finally try making Asian style eggrolls. This recipe seemed easy enough and sounded tasty. As other reviewers suggested, I did substitute frozen shrimp for the canned, low sodium soy for the regular and garlic powder for the salt to cut down on the sodium level. I left out the bacon since we don't eat pork. I also didn't have any bean sprouts so I substituted napa cabbage which I sauted for just a minute to wilt. I was really looking forward to homemade eggrolls, but I have to say I was a bit disappointed with these. They were just ok but nothing special. For the amount of work these took and the mess of frying, they weren't worth it and I won't be making these again. I will stick to my local Chinese food restaurant's eggrolls in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Loved these! This was my first attempt at making my own egg rolls and I was delighted with how easy they were and how tasty. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I used fresh salad shrimp, I don't care for the canned stuff. I left out the chicken and bacon, just not in the mood for them. I could not find bean sprouts so I used cabbage. The end result was very good. I ate 4 of them. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States