Egg Rolls a la Paye Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
These were very good and we all enjoyed them but we all agreed we prefer the taste of shredded cabbage over the bean sprouts. Also, I think cabbage is easier to work with and the wraps are easier to fold than with the sprouts. Because others complained of the salt content, I substituted the garlic salt for 1/8 tsp. garlic powder. Tasted perfect. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Very good, but I made a few changes since several people commented these were too salty. I used cooked salad shrimp from the seafood counter instead of canned, used 3 cups cabbage instead of bean sprouts and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I baked mine for 10-15 minutes, turning 1/2 way through, because I don't like dealing with the mess of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
These are so good. My husband loved them. They were easy to make and used a lot of things I had on hand! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I decided to make these on a day when I was at home by myself and wound up wishing I had somebody at home to enjoy them with. I used cabbage rather than bean sprouts and added some fresh ground pepper to the 2nd 6 before I rolled them up. I like the ones with the pepper just a little better. Deep fried in peanut oil and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These were terrific! Used about 1 c sprouts and 2 c shredded cabbage w/ 1/2 c shredded carrot. Added 1 t minced fresh ginger. Limited soy sauce so it wouldn't make rolls soggy - garlic salt was great to get the saltiness it needed. Very delicious - just as good (if not better!) than restaurant rolls! I used chopped shrimp, next time I'll add pork/chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
These are superb! We all loved them, although they were a little salty. Albeit, I did sautee the chicken in a soy sauce, teriyaki, lemon & garlic marinade. Overall, great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J9GEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Desenzano Del Garda, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
i was asked to make egg rolls and am i ever happy to have come across these.Although i substituted cabbage for bean sprouts{as there is alot of health contraversies}they turned out wonderful.I may not have followed the measurments to the tee i used the basic concept and was told they were the best egg rolls ever had.So i thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
I used fresh salad shrimp, I don't care for the canned stuff. I left out the chicken and bacon, just not in the mood for them. I could not find bean sprouts so I used cabbage. The end result was very good. I ate 4 of them. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Man were these good! I served them with store-bought plum sauce and they were gone before I knew it! Easy recipe to adjust to your taste as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
These were pretty good. I used some left over chicken breast and precooked bacon. Didn't have any bean sprouts but cabbage was a nice substitute. Though, I did saute the cabbage in the skillet for 15 minutes or so. Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, didn't have that. My egg roll wrapper package had 15 wrappers so we made them kind of small to use all the wrappers. I really would have liked to have them a bit on the large side though. That way their not too 'doughy' tasting, if you know what I mean. Have the white of one egg in a bowl handy to seal the ends of your egg rolls towards the end of rolling the up....just use a small brush. A NEW paint brush works great (the small ones). I deep fried the egg rolls at 350 degrees for 3 minutes PER SIDE. Any longer and they'd be burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States