Egg Roll Wrappers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by janae
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
These work great, but are definitely an acquired talent! I made them in a small frying pan set just below medium. I actually used about 1/8 the batter per wrapper (not 1/4), but doubled the recipe so I could throw out ones I ripped. They ended up being 5-6" by 5-6" (I tried to make them square-ish so they'd be easier to wrap). Be careful not to over cook them - the bottom side should be barely, barely golden, the top just barely not wet. Let them cool for a minute before wrapping, or they tear. Don't let them go too long, though, or they crack. DO NOT OVER FILL! Each wrapper makes one egg roll appx. the length of your thumb and 2-3 times the size. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This is a great recipe for homemade egg roll wrappers. Have some patience - it does take a little practice, and make sure you roll them thin. I had no problems with them turning out like "crepes." Just make sure you fry them long enough after filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Tasty, easy and great to use! Try them with the sambusa recipe here on allrecipes, or eat them by themselves. I found that a skillet was much easier to use than a wok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These are great! (and easy once you get the hang of it)..To keep them from getting too thick, pour the batter in a circle... literally an "O" shape, instead of in a pancake-like circle. Then pick up the wok and shake/roll it around until the dough is spread thin and the circle is filled in. I found I didn't need any oil in my Teflon coated wok. One batch made about 6 wraps for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
These were fabulous. I bought rice paper instead of egg roll wrappers and thought I was doomed (I had already made the filling and everything!). Luckily my husband checked Allrecipes. This recipe saved my dinner. It didn't make enough, so I had to make another batch (even for just the 2 of us). But they are SO easy it wasn't a big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Excellent! I added parsley flakes for color and some onion powder for a little flavor and they were super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This a great recipe. (I have used thhis recipe for more than 30 years) I often have to double or triple it. If you have any dough left - bake it with cinnamon and sugar as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rochester, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The egg mixture for these wrappers came out way too thick & lended a very doughy and chewy texture. Am I doing something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David Peters
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Make sure your batter is fairly thin! Don't use the given proportions verbatim but rather use your judgment to make sure they'll flow out so that they wind up nice and thin. Otherwise you'll wind up with little pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I made this recipe tonight and I had a similar experience to the people who said it was thick and like a crepe, even after I added my filling and fried it...but it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States