Egg Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Fried rice is actually common in Malaysia. Tips: to make this recipe tastier, saute chopped onion and garlic ( more garlic )then add eggs, stir and add oyster sauce for extra flavor. Pic posted for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
This is a pretty good recipe, it does need something but not sure what. I also added half can of drained peas/carrots, some chopped green bell peppers and some cubed chicken. I don't think it needs more soy sauce but it does lack some sort of spice. Either way, will make again and plan to experiment. Very easy and good, quick lunch or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2001
Great recipe! I substituted carrots for the green beans because that's all that was on hand. Turned out wonderfully! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I made fried rice a long time ago and attempted it again today using this recipe as my guideline. I altered it a little but had great results. I didn't use the green beans. I shredded about a 1/2 cup of cabbage and several spinach leaves and sauteed this along with chopped garlic. I also threw in a handful of bean sprouts and shredded carrots. I used a little more soy sauce than called for..(but I love soy sauce, so for me the more the merrier). I made this to go along with the broiled tilapia recipe also found on this site. Thanks Krista.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe! I don't use the greenbeans though. I use about 1/2 cup frozen corn (or 1 ear of fresh corn cut from the cob) and about 1/2 cup frozen peas. Definately use 2 eggs. This goes so well with Honey Pork Oriental, a recipe you can also find here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Excellent! I am such a fried rice fan but have never previously attempted to make this dish at home. Constantly was ordering this dish frequently at restaurants and never NOT order it when eating chinese/thai/japenese food. It occured to me that it would be fabulous to simulate the type of fried rice I devoured at these restaurants right at home. This recipe looked the easiest as I am by no means an experienced cook. I put in green onions and carrots instead of normal onions and beans and I also had left over chicken breast which I sliced up and added in to make it "Chicken Fried Rice". At the last minute I realized I had no Soy Sauce left so I improvised and used Lea and Perrins Worschestire Sauce instead. It turned out to be delicious!! Obviously, It didn't have the soy sauce flavour but what I ended up with was tasty and unique. This was soooo easy to make and I am considering making it again tommorow! This is a home run!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
I'm sorry to say this but this is the worst fried rice that I have ever had. I just made it a few minutes ago and I had to end up throwing it all away.I was really expecting something much better from all the reviews that I read. I would have to say that I would never make this again, I'm goin to stick to my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This should really be 2.5 stars. I made the following changes to the recipe: sesame oil instead of veggie oil; 1 cup mixed frozen (thawed out) veggies instead of onion and green beans. I also used low sodium soy sauce. The rice came out pretty tasty for homemade Chinese food, but it was a bit too salty for my palate. I might decrease the salt next time to 1/4 tsp since soy sauce has a good amount of salt in it to begin with. I also feel like the taste is "missing something," though I have no idea what. I will look to reviewers' comments next time to make improvements. Will try this again and play with it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was very tasty. I added ginger and used peas instead of green beans. Next time I will omit the extra salt, because this was a bit salty but as it sits it gets a good flavor. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
This was the worst fried rice I've ever had. It was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States