Egg-Free Low-Fat Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
They were good and healthy. A little too sweet though; maybe cut down on the sugar or raisins next time. Also, it was kind of rubbery... but they were very low in calories, which I liked =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gillette
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Fabulous!!! These cookies are so delicious, thick and moist and very chewy. I've gotten nothing but glowing compliments about these ones. I happened to have bought dried cranberries the day I made these, so I subbed them in for the walnuts and they taste so good, they add a nice little tang. You can also use all brown sugar instead of white and brown, that would keep it a little healthier (not that they really need to be!) I will definitely be making these again for my lunches and just regular snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Well, I didn't quite follow the recipe. I didn't have applesauce so I used very ripe banana and butter instead, and I used 2 tsp of cinnamon. When I baked them, they stayed in exactly the little balls i made them into, so I flattened them. They tasted fine, but were pretty tough and chewy. We kinda liked them - something different, but they weren't really cookies...I think they would have made great granola bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s2055

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
i followed the recipe exactly, but i wouldn't call thse cookies. they're like rubber and there is no cookie texture at all. mine didnt spread, i had to flatten them. although the flavors are fine, it has potential, but will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenlines22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It turned out wonderful for me. It had a great apple smell and taste, it was soft, perhaps a little too soft, cake-like and not the chewy cookie texture. I did use 2 apples that were microwaved until soft and then beat w/ blender. I also noticed that the thin applesauce made the little amounts of sugar overwhelming, so I would use 1/3c sugar next time. Overall it was tasty and good to know it wouldn't hurt me too much for a snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I found it! I am on Weight Watchers and am on the hunt for a good cookie recipe. I followed this recipe almost completely. I used 1 cup of whole wheat pastry flour and sifted it twice. I used unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, and a 1/2 of a 70% dark chocolate bar, chopped up. I made cookies the size of quarters (I flattened them out a little w/ my finger before baking) and at this size, you can have 7 of them for 2 points!!!! I personally would rather eat 7 little cookies than 1 big cookie, so these are a winner with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
As far as low-fat cookies go, i adore this one. I have made it repeatedly for hiking trips and some kayaking and biking. It travels well and can be made into bars. Sometimes i switch up the applesauce for plain or banana yogurt, the sugar for splenda with some molasses, or i will kick up the spices a bit. Either way, when i leave the house, i have some of these tasty cookies with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
These are sort of tasty, but certainly not what I'd call a cookie. They're more like a sweetish, chewy muffin top or scone. The texture is very springy. I bumped sugar up to 1/3 cup of brown and white sugar each and they still were not very sweet. Also, I don't know if my oven is messed up or what, but I found the baking time for these to be waaaaay off-- they need at least 18-20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I made these alleged cookies and decided to tell people that they were really more like baked oatmeal blobs. They were not sweet enough nor crunchy enough, in my opinion, to be called cookies, but taste good enough for an egg free low fat option. If you want cookies you may as well use 1/2 the butter a regular cookie recipe calls for and sub. applesauce for the other 1/2 because the texture and flavor lost are not worth the calories saved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This cookie is really easy to make. I just made my first batch and found it a little dry. I may add a little more applesauce the next time. Overall it was a very tasty cookie for those of us who are watching our weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States