Egg-Free Low-Fat Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
if anyone who has tried to replace all the oil in a recipe with applesauce will have a clue on the texture of these cookies. When you use all applesauce it will give your cookies, bread whatever a chewy- gummy-like texture...dense also. Since i knew what to expect when i made these cookies,they are what they are. After you bake the cookies and they're cooled place in a tupperware or ziplock for and hour. The texture will improve. Simular to a cookie dough texture. Be sure to keep the bag or container opened afterward since these cookies are moist i'm sure they'll go moldy fast. I haven't tried keeping them in the fridge they don't last long. My bf likes them since they are low cal and low chloesteral and they don't hurt his diet when his sugar gets low. we both like the flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
For a cookie with no egg/shortening/oil/butter, they are fantastic. I may even try to cut down more on the sugar next time to make them even healthier. I used soda instead of baking powder like other reviewers suggested and used a few chocolate chips instead of raisins/walnuts. They are more of a muffin like consistency and are very moist to the point of stickiness the next day, but the taste is still great. And they are also super super fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I loved them! First and foremost I am not an excellent cook and generally when I meddle with recipes it does not work for me. However these were so simple it was ridiculous! I did add a touch of additional cinnamon and actually about 1/2 tsp of all spice (I love the smell alone)! I also did 1/2 flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. Honestly, I made peanut butter oatmeal cookies last week with butter and much more sugar and I loved these so much more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
have the dough chilling right now, but im trying it out using self rising flour and omitting salt/baking powder. also, no nuts or raisins and added a few butterscotch chips. dough was amazing! cant wait to try it baked LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I love these cookies; a nice sweet treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I love healthy baking, but I had to throw these away. :( They tasted like undercooked, chewy, too-sweet muffins (even after baking them for 6 minutes longer). My advice is to stick to muffin recipes if you are going low-fat/vegan/egg-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
For an egg-free, low-fat cookie, these were pretty good, but they didn't have the oatmeal cookie feel that I was looking for (which I'm assuming is because of the lack of butter). I made a total of three adjustments to this recipe. 1) I didn't have enough applesauce so I pureed half an apple to make up the difference 2) I added chocolate chips and 3) I added some peanut butter. Maybe with a little more tweaking this recipe will be perfect for my tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Very bland and too dense and chewy for my liking. Perhaps with a little variance these could be a lot better, but as-is they were very lacking and not worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mikebranski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Pretty good, I added some more cinnamon as well as cloves and nutmeg to give them a little more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niroszyckame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
ehhh. I was craving some oatmeal cookies and can't have eggs right now...my hopes were a little high. More like a health bar texture than a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States