Egg-Free Low-Fat Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
For a low fat recipe, these are FANTASTIC! most low fat recipes do not take away my sweet craving but these totally did! i used 1 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of half and splenda white and brown sugar. i also added an extra teaspoon of baking powder. i will definalty make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
These cookies were too chewy and dry. I threw them away after no one would eat them. I would change the recipe to include an egg substitute instead off apple sauce. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I made these for my husband while he's on his low fat diet, he loves them. Great alternative to high fat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My husband really liked these cookies. Great alternative to the real thing. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
These make great breakfast treats on my way out the door! I added a bit more baking powder and vanilla, and substituted mixed dried fruit for just one kind. I make these every few weeks and grab a few on my way to work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
JUST what I was looking for; super-low fat, lots of flavor, and guilt-free cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I tried this with a couple adjustments. I used 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce, so I added about 1/8 cup of white sugar. I used 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla. Instead of raisins, I added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. Also, I flattened the cookies before baking them. The cookies have a different texture, a mix of cake and cookie dough. The chocolate chips made them not seem like a "healthy cookie" and only added a little fat. My 3-year-old loved making them and eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
I won't make these again - they had were very bland. My cookies didn't spread at all, so if I was to make them, I'd not make them quite so round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I made some changes: 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/6 cup white sugar, ½ cup applesauce, 3½ TBS butter (made really soft, almost melted, in the microwave), 1 cup flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, maybe 1/4 tsp cinnamon (allergies in the house), one good shake of ground ginger, 1 cup oats, ½ cup Craisins, and about 1/4 cup Smarties (Canadian candies: like M&Ms, but MUCH better!). My daughter and I like to eat cookie dough (we SAMPLE it! It has to be good dough to make good cookies!), so it's nice that I don't have to worry about eggs. Oh, I also used parchment paper instead of greasing the sheets. It took them about 12 minutes in the oven, and they were a thicker, softer cookie. The ginger was a nice addition. One bit of advice to people complaining about 'cakey' cookies: Substitute some (or most, or all) of the baking powder with baking soda. Most chocolate chip cookies have soda but not powder, and think of what they turn out like. :) Thanks for sharing, Lucille!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I substitued brown suger splenda blend for baking and splenda white sugar for baking, used no sugar added applesauce, and lite salt. Also added craisins (dried cranberries) instead of raisins. It was a great recipe! They are more cake-like, as others have said. With these adaptations, I made 17 round cookies, each with just under 50 calories. What a great guilt-free sweet treat! I will make them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States