Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
My daughter suffers severe allergies to many products including dairy, egg, nut and soy. I prepare this recipe excluding the chocolate chips and end up with a lovely, moist cake which doesn't need frosting and keeps for a couple of days (if it gets the chance). I've cooked the batter in every shaped pan imaginable, including a shaped birthday cake for my daughter, without any problems. Obviously the cooking times varies slightly depending on the pan. It even works well in muffin tins or patty pans - these are great to keep in the freezer! Our favorite way to serve it is to cook it in a fluted ring tin, when cool fill the centre hole with with berries or cherries and dust with icing sugar. It lookes as luscious as it tastes. Most family and friends who know about my daughter's allergies cannot believe this cake is allergy friendly, and many use the recipe themselves. In addition, while it may not be fat free, it is easily made cholesterol free by using the right kind of oil. A thousand "thank you's" to the person who submitted this recipe - you've ensured that we have an option for a delicious cake for a little girl whose diet is restricted in so many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
My first go at this cake was not good at all - it broke up to bits....Then I decided to add what is called No Egg replacement by Norgran...which helps bind the cake a bit more....The cake was a huge success. Thank you for this recipe! I have a son that is Allergic to eggs & dairy and it was nice to be able to make a cake that tastes so wonderful. I have passed this recipe on to other mothers in the same boat as me who also wish to say thank you. Best Regards from Sydney Australia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is some tasty stuff! Vinegar is an interesting surprise ingredient in this, but you can't taste it at all in this recipe. I have tried this cake recipe without the chocolate chips, but instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of Chocolate Soy Milk. This makes an incredibly moist cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This is a ridiculously good chocolate cake recipe. I didn't tell my family this had no eggs or dairy, and they all said it was amazing. For my personal taste it needs a bit of frosting, the sweetness will accentuate the chocolate perfectly. To everyone who had trouble with gritty cake, I would tell you that you didn't mix it enough. I whisked mine for at least 3 minutes. If it doesn't look just like normal cake batter you need to mix more, if it looks oily on top with bits of crumbs inside keep mixing. This is a new keeper recipe for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darien, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Awesome recipe. I made this for my daughter's 1st birthday party as she has a cow's milk allergy. It was a hit! I did think there was too much oil so instead of 5 TBSP of oil, I substituted 3 TBSP of oil and 3 TBSP of applesauce. When I make this again, I will leave out the (non-dairy) chocolate chips as they really didn't add to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Tried this for my boyfriends 22nd birthday. He's allergic to everything including dairy, egg, nut, and soy. Did not expect it to turn out half as good as it did. Surprised me when it tasted just as good, if not better then a normal chocolate cake! Was a big hit, and would definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I was, like everyone else, skeptical. But this recipe is perfect! My daughter's class has a student allergic to eggs and nuts and I have no experience with this at all. Her teacher recommended this recipe to me and it worked great! I didn't use the choco chips, but the cake was beautiful. It works great for cupcakes too. The only problem I found was that no one really said how much it made. This will make the 8X8 pan listed, but that is only about 12-14 good sized cupcakes. I ended up having to go back and make a whole new batch for the 24 I needed. Well worth the effort. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This cake was soooo yummy! I used Pillsbury Milk Chocolate Flavor icing (contains no dairy) and my family loved it! My daugher is highly allergic to milk, eggs & nuts. Now I have a cake to make her when she goes to birthday parties. She can have her chocolate cake and soy ice cream and be "one of the regular kids" without feeling left out. It was very easy to make and economical too. Thanks so much to Bridget for sending this in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
All my boyfriends friends are vegan and any cakes they have tried to bake have been complete failures and tasted awful. With it being my boyfriend's 18th birthday I thought I'd give it a go myself. I tried this cake, expecting it not to work, then when we tasted it, it was amazing...too good to be true. He couldn't believe it was vegan and didn't have any dairy products. Highly recommended to everyone! It was totally easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I made this as a snack for my friend whose daughters have egg allergies. I couldn't believe how quick, easy and tasty this was!! Both girls seemed to like it, and we adults really liked it. It was very light and nice and chocolatey (I did use Ghiradelli choc chips). The center did puff up, and it was well done at the minimum cook time in my oven, so I would suggest checking the cake maybe after 25 minutes so you don't over do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States