Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
The preparation and mixing of the batter was easy, I baked for the recommended amount of time and when i opened the oven door. The cake had exploded all over my oven. The outer cake was cooked but the center was a gooey mess. I have never had this happen to me. I am going to use traditional recipes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
I made this for my daughter-in-laws birthday. It was very moist and delicious and very easy to make. It was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
My daughter suffers severe allergies to many products including dairy, egg, nut and soy. I prepare this recipe excluding the chocolate chips and end up with a lovely, moist cake which doesn't need frosting and keeps for a couple of days (if it gets the chance). I've cooked the batter in every shaped pan imaginable, including a shaped birthday cake for my daughter, without any problems. Obviously the cooking times varies slightly depending on the pan. It even works well in muffin tins or patty pans - these are great to keep in the freezer! Our favorite way to serve it is to cook it in a fluted ring tin, when cool fill the centre hole with with berries or cherries and dust with icing sugar. It lookes as luscious as it tastes. Most family and friends who know about my daughter's allergies cannot believe this cake is allergy friendly, and many use the recipe themselves. In addition, while it may not be fat free, it is easily made cholesterol free by using the right kind of oil. A thousand "thank you's" to the person who submitted this recipe - you've ensured that we have an option for a delicious cake for a little girl whose diet is restricted in so many ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
I made this as a snack for my friend whose daughters have egg allergies. I couldn't believe how quick, easy and tasty this was!! Both girls seemed to like it, and we adults really liked it. It was very light and nice and chocolatey (I did use Ghiradelli choc chips). The center did puff up, and it was well done at the minimum cook time in my oven, so I would suggest checking the cake maybe after 25 minutes so you don't over do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This cake is soooo delicious. I made it and no one missed the eggs! It's the only eggless cake I've seen that doesn't call for some egg substitute. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
All my boyfriends friends are vegan and any cakes they have tried to bake have been complete failures and tasted awful. With it being my boyfriend's 18th birthday I thought I'd give it a go myself. I tried this cake, expecting it not to work, then when we tasted it, it was amazing...too good to be true. He couldn't believe it was vegan and didn't have any dairy products. Highly recommended to everyone! It was totally easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This cake was soooo yummy! I used Pillsbury Milk Chocolate Flavor icing (contains no dairy) and my family loved it! My daugher is highly allergic to milk, eggs & nuts. Now I have a cake to make her when she goes to birthday parties. She can have her chocolate cake and soy ice cream and be "one of the regular kids" without feeling left out. It was very easy to make and economical too. Thanks so much to Bridget for sending this in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
A MAJOR FLOP! Don't waste your time or your ingredients (even though they're inexpensive ingredients). Save time and bake an apple pie or something like that, which can also be egg-free, dairy-free, and nut-free. This cake was rediculous. The preparation was easy, the batter didn't look bad but the cooking took forever and after over 40-45 minutes of just plain baking!!, I ASSUMED it was done (which it should have been) and it was all gooey and gummy on the inside and bottom. I followed the directions perfectly and it turned out horrible! A WASTE OF TIME! The only person who would like this cake is a person who is utterly starving or out of their senses. Sorry, but I must be honest...this cake just SUCKED! On a happier note, Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I made this for my niece and nephew who are allergic to dairy, egg, and nuts. I omitted the chocolate chips. I iced it with the Pillsbury Milk Chocolate Flavored Icing. My niece and nephew loved it. I agree that you'll never miss the dairy products in this cake. I will try it again with nondairy chocolate chips. I am thrilled to have this for my files. Thanks, Bridget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
I am so glad I foud this recipe! My daughter is allergic to dairy products and I tried half recipe before her birthday. She liked it and so did everyone else. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilonka Gangadin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States