Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by PrayLoveEat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the first food-allergy-friendly treat I've ever tried to make. My son will be celebrating his first birthday next month so I tried this recipe out so I can bake him a cake he can actually eat, or make a mess out of. =D I followed the recipe to the T for this first try and I am extremely happy with the result. I reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes since I made cupcakes out of them instead of a sheet cake. I also sifted all my dry ingredients just to help with the density. The result is a light and fluffy cupcake that tastes chocolaty, not too sweet and you won't miss the egg. I am extremely happy with the result. Happy cooking! Happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
After reading one of the other reviewer's comments, I went and bought some egg substitute to add to the recipe. The equivalent of one egg was added on top of the other ingredients, and this cake was moist and delicious. I combined it with an organic icing mix from my local food co-op and put the icing on while the cake was still warm, as my mom used to do. Everyone at the thesis defense celebration I attended loved it! I was even told I should make it again for my own defense. :-) I should mention, however, that though the recipe calls for the oil, vinegar, etc to be added and mixed until everything is moistened, this proved impossible because everything clumped too quickly and too thickly to mix until I added the water. (I just used a wire whisk to mix with, though I doubt an electric mixer would've been able to do much better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Amazing this is the best egg free chocolate cake i have ever had that includes pre made from the store. I used melted dairy free butter because I didnt have oil and blended the batter till completely smooth. I made frosting but honestly didn't need it. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Slight changes were I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 cup oil rather than 5 tablespoons. How wonderful. Thank You soo much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CincyGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I needed an egg free/dairy free recipe for my daughter's daycare since one of the students has milk/egg allergies. I did use soy milk instead of water, and I did not put in chocolate chips because I wanted less sugar for the toddlers. The batter was super easy to make, I made sure to mix it really well and I created a double batch which made 24 cupcakes. They did rise some but not too much. The taste is quite yummy although I can tell a difference from 'regular' chocolate cake, this kind of tastes like a mild or slightly bland chocolate cake (maybe that's why it called for chocolate chips). But for what it is, they were amazing and the toddlers in her class will love them! We decorated with Pillsbury vanilla frosting. Also, the texture of the cake is just like 'real' cake I had no issues with that at all. Next time I will use chocolate soy milk instead of regular and hopefully that will help make them a bit richer. Thanks for this amazing and super easy recipe! The daycare teachers were very appreciative of me making these allergy free treats for all of the kids to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gottacookthis
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
fantastic recipe! i felt like i was at a fancy restaurant having dessert. delicious, rich, moist, wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gottacookthis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Very tasty! So moist and you would never know there was vinegar in it. I omitted the chocolate chips because it was chocolately enough :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Can be gluten free too! I used Bob's All Purpose Gluten Free flour, added 3/4 tsp xanthan gum... and it's the BEST dairy free gluten free cake I've ever tried. And we've tried a lot in the last 5 years - including many from bakeries. This is far better! Also - I experimented with a "cut out" cake for my son's birthday and found that if you refridgerate or freeze this cake, you can cut it into shapes rather well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
didn't look as good as the picutes but tast great we loved it run out of eggs and neeeded a chocolate and this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I found this recipe the day after I found out my beautiful daughter was egg and dairy allergic. I was overwhelmed with the situation, and needed to put something together quickly for a birthday party that night (as I am now one of "those" moms). This recipe was actually very good. I did it as written. I did not find it to be too chewy, or brownie like. I made 10 cupcakes and cooked them for 25 mins on 350. Probably could have been less, but I like a nice size cupcake. In a strange way, this recipe was so good- it gave me the confidence to know I can still feed my daughter great-tasting foods, while not worrying about her allergies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States