Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not bad. Made these for my egg allergic 21 month old and while she did not like them, everyone else said they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am blown away by this cake! I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free flour blend so that all of the daycare kids would be able to eat this. My daughter is turning one tomorrow and she is allergic to dairy. I am so pleased with the way this cake turned out! (I omitted the chocolate chips and I substituted coconut milk for the water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Amazing!! This cake is moist and delicious. I chose it not because of allergies but because I had no dairy ingredients and wanted cake! lol Instead of 1 cup cold water I brewed a few cups strong coffee and chilled one cup. I also added crushed walnuts (since I usually LOVE them in brownies). This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Outstanding! This recipe makes having allergies a real treat! So moist, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Better than the chocolate cake recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box! I make cakes for family and friends, had a special request for a dairy free chocolate cake so I went with this one. So very good and moist! Stood up to me carving it into a fish shape as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Good stuff! Made it "as is" and it came out great. I'll be making this of my sons 3rd birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Super moist and really yummy, you totally don't miss the dairy at ALL in this cake. However, while the chocolate chunks taste good (I used ghiradelli - no need to visit a health food store like the description says, buy an up brand and it likely doesn't have the added dairy the cheapy brands like Nestle and Hershey have) they are not very conducive to cutting and shaping your cake! I had such a hard time because the chips would be in the way and I'd end up losing them chips and leaving a little hole. Grrr. But for a plain sheet or round cake without having to cut and shape - great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I have made this cake several times and it always goes over amazingly! It turns out moist, fluffy and SO DELICIOUS! I found, though, that mixing the chocolate chips in the batter made the cake flat and heavy, so I just put them between the two layers of cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marathon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
VERY delicious! I had tons of compliments on this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rubymeghee
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Thank you, thank you, thank you for the wonderful allergy free cake. My son will have a delicious cake for his 3rd birthday. The cake was flavorful with the substitution of chocolate soy milk, and minus the chocolate chips (couldn't find any without milk). I accidently mixed all the wet ingredients together, but the cake still came out perfect. By far, the best allergy free cake I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States