Egg-Free Dairy-Free Nut-Free Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
SO good. My little one noted that it does have a bit of a reddish hue to it - sort of like red velvet, but no where near as red (guessing that's from the vinegar and baking soda) ;) Just gave up cows' dairy - but am about 7 months pregnant - and not about to give up snacks! This recipe totally saves the day. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I just made some cupcakes using this as a base recipe. I didn't have semi sweet chocolates and enough flour so I improvised. I only put 1 cup of flour since that's all the flour I had left. And I also used powdered mocha drink instead of semi sweet chocolates. I also reduced the water to half a cup since it was turning very liquid-y already while I was adding the water. The result turned out good! Topped it with a mocha cream cheese frosting. Yum! When I have all the ingredients on hand, I'll try it again sticking to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were really good! My daughter has an egg allergy, so I made these for her 3-year-old soccer team party. The kids ate them up and many of the parents were surprised they were dairy and egg free. I doubled the recipe and it made 22 regular-sized cupcakes. I also followed the advice of a previous reviewer and used 6 TBSP applesauce and 6 TBSP oil (for a double batch) to cut down on the oil. I also used whole wheat flour and it worked out fine. They took about 20 minutes in the oven and were perfectly done. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I hate having a kid with allergies, but recipes like this make it okay! :D Thanks for a moist yummy cake! Everyone can eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I rarely leave reviews on recipes, but this one was SOOO good it deserves a positive review. I wanted to bring cupcakes to my daughter's preschool class for her birthday, but one of the kids is allergic to peanuts and one is allergic to eggs. When I found this recipe, I knew I had to at least try it. I made the 8x8 cake last night (to try before I attempt cupcakes tomorrow), and it was the BEST homemade cake I have EVER had. Not only do I NOT like homemade cake, but chocolate homemade cake is my least favorite. WOW! This one is the exception to every rule! It was moist and dense, which is exactly the things I love about cake. It will make the perfect cupcakes! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used Truvia instead of sugar (since this one was for us), as we tend to eat mostly sugar free in my house. It was so good it didn't even need the frosting (could have put a little whipping cream or powdered sugar on it), although I did use a small amount of my favorite homemade frosting. I will probably ALWAYS use this recipe when I make cakes from now on. Why mess with perfection??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I just made this tonight and it turned out excellent! My husband was shocked when he tasted it. We both love how dense and moist the cake turned out. It is a perfect mix between brownie and cake. :)! If you have a pretty big sweet tooth, you can add extra semi-sweet chocolate chips (or some dairy free frosting). I did follow some other reviews that said to mix the batter until smooth to prevent problems. I mixed until there were absolutely no lumps, and scraped the sides of the bowl multiple times to ensure even mixing. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Not bad. Made these for my egg allergic 21 month old and while she did not like them, everyone else said they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I am blown away by this cake! I used Bob's Red Mill gluten-free flour blend so that all of the daycare kids would be able to eat this. My daughter is turning one tomorrow and she is allergic to dairy. I am so pleased with the way this cake turned out! (I omitted the chocolate chips and I substituted coconut milk for the water.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Amazing!! This cake is moist and delicious. I chose it not because of allergies but because I had no dairy ingredients and wanted cake! lol Instead of 1 cup cold water I brewed a few cups strong coffee and chilled one cup. I also added crushed walnuts (since I usually LOVE them in brownies). This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking_Enchantress

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Tamarac, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Outstanding! This recipe makes having allergies a real treat! So moist, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States