Egg Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Butter flavor Crisco shortening works great in this recipe. If you want a healthier cookie with more flavor, use half brown sugar and half white sugar, half whole wheat flour and half white flour, decreasing the shortening to 3/4 cup. For a spicier cookie that tastes more like pumpkin pie, use 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, and 1/4 tsp ginger (or just use 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice). Cream cheese frosting goes very nicely with these cookies, per suggestions from prior reviews. Thank you for a great eggless cookie recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
Thanks for a great recipe! My daughter is allergic to eggs and she loves this treat. I made it with half brown sugar and half white sugar for a chewier cookie, and also subsituted half of the recommended amount of shortening with margarine. They tasted great!! I left out the chocolate chips for half the batch and they were still delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I had no eggs in the house and wanted to make pumpkin cookies to send in my college daughter's Halloween care package so finding this recipe was serendipity! I made a few changes: I halved the recipe and substituted margarine for the shortening. I also added a half cup of toasted chopped walnuts and a half teasp. of nutmeg and a pinch of allspice. I chilled the batter while I cleaned the kitchen and then rolled the batter into balls. I rolled the balls in granulated sugar and then flattened them with a fork. Thanks for sharing this recipe with us Arlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Everyone that tried them loved these cookies. I also used pumpkin pie filling instead of the puree, half the cinnamon, 1c. white sugar, and 1c. brown sugar. It was also easier the second time around because I creamed the sugars and shortening first, then added the pumpkin a little bit at a time. Otherwise it was hard to mix and the pumpkin was so wet that it splashed a lot. It is a very fast and easy cookie to make from scratch. The first time I used chocolate chips, the second time I dressed it up for the holidays by dipping the tops in white chocolate and sprinkling with green edible glitter. They were very attractive and you get a bit of chocolate in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Zoiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I love this recipe. I made some without chocolate chips and many with. I liked both however I added to teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and less flour. I used 3 1/2 cups of floor instead of four because someone said they were a little floury. Let me tell you less flour really worked. Also I didn't have any shortening so I used butter instead. Well guess I changed alot but in the end they turned out great anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fireborn27
Home Town: Frostproof, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
For an egg free cookie this works great with coffee. It's kinda like pumpkin bread, but easier. The chocolate chips add a nice sweetness to the cookie. My toddler is allergic to eggs and picky to boot, but he LOVED these! He always wants "two more cookies". Make sure that you store them in an air tight container/cookie jar, as they will harden within a few hours. Thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Woooo Hoooo, This is great! I was craving cookies today and when I started the basic base recipe for cookies, I then noticed I had no eggs, ugh!! Then I looked for a cookie recipe that did not require eggs, and BAM~~ Here it is, and just let me say these are very yummy, I did like others, by adding some extra, ginger, allspice,cinnamon and fresh nutmeg, I also just used some county crock spread instead of shortning. I also used a sugar coated fork to gently press down on the cookies. (also I did two batches with chopped walnuts on top, mmmmm good) They came out so good, I can't wait for my kids to get home from school for this tasty snack. I will so make this again and again... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe! My oldest daughter has multiple food allergies (egg included). I had been looking for a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie recipe, as my mother had lost hers (which had egg in it, of course). When I found this recipe, I was very excited! I did make a change to the recipe - used 1/2 c milk-free margarine and 1/2 c shortening. I also used part cinnamon and part pumpkin pie spice to jazz them up! The recipe made a ton of cookies! They were very soft (which was fine with us!) And, they froze very well! Both my kids (4 and 1) really liked these cookies, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Excellent cookie!I loved the ones without chocolate chips and my kids loved the ones with chips.I topped with cream cheese icing as well.This is a keeper.I just made these again and used 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of 2 tsp cinnamon and they were even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I didn't care for these. I think they would be much better without the cinnamon. They would also be good with the cinnamon but without the chocolate chips. It's the combination of the two together that I didn't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States