Egg Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Sooooo good!!!!!! These were such a nice change of pace from regular chocolate chip cookies. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I gave this a 4 because although they weren't great (probably as a result of the ingredients I used which were different from what's in the recipe), this recipe definitely makes a healthy, satisfyingly filling and tasty cookie. I used gluten-free flour, Smart Balance in place of butter, and Splenda in place of sugar, plus I added some nutmeg,and some additional vanilla. Made 12 cookies, and only used 1/4 can pumpkin puree. You definitely have to watch these so that they don't burn. Next time I make these I will add more spices and in higher amounts because the recipe if followed exactly makes a bland cookie, and I may add ground nuts for texture. The best thing about these, at least the way I made them, is that they are gluten and egg free, low in saturated fats and sugars, and thus I didn't have to feel guilty about eating something that's not too good for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Woooo Hoooo, This is great! I was craving cookies today and when I started the basic base recipe for cookies, I then noticed I had no eggs, ugh!! Then I looked for a cookie recipe that did not require eggs, and BAM~~ Here it is, and just let me say these are very yummy, I did like others, by adding some extra, ginger, allspice,cinnamon and fresh nutmeg, I also just used some county crock spread instead of shortning. I also used a sugar coated fork to gently press down on the cookies. (also I did two batches with chopped walnuts on top, mmmmm good) They came out so good, I can't wait for my kids to get home from school for this tasty snack. I will so make this again and again... ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMBOOPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Albemarle, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
After reading some viewer comments, I decided to use 1 cup white sugar and one cup brown sugar, plus I added half a tsp of nutmeg and one fourth of a tsp of allspice, but it still could have had more flavor. Overall, it is a nice cookie; the texture is more like a cake though. It helps to wet your hands with cold water and roll the dough into balls and flatten them out a bit, because they rise in the oven, but do not expand much. This recipe makes way more than (48) 1 tsp cookies. I would make them again; they will be good with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I made these last night and they were great!I did take the advice of others and cut down the flour, added a little salt, and also added 1 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristengenell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I needed another batch of cookies for an event and had a half can of pumpkin to use up so decided to try this recipe cut in half. They did not flatten as shown in the photo but I liked the cakey texture. I was concerned about so many reviews saying they were bland, so I added 1/2 t. salt and the chocolate chips. Glad I did as I think they would be nothing special without the chocolate or a lot of extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I have never made pumpkin cookies before, but these are excellent. I did use half applesauce and half margarine for the shortening and used mostly wheat flour, but I doubt this made a huge difference. Very tasty- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
these are delicious and the recipe makes a ton of cookies! i followed the advice of others and used half all-purpose half wheat flour, half brown sugar half white sugar, and i added some ginger and nutmeg. i also used butter flavored shortening. i didn't have any chocolate chips so i just omitted them. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My niece and I wanted to make some kind of dessert, but we had no butter in the house. So we made these with the left over pumpkin puree we used for our pumpkin juice. They were a big hit! They're delicious. I know we'll be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These cookies turned out a little bland for me. I should have used the butter flavored Crisco. I added the half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also added some cut up caramels to the batter. That gave it a bit more sweetness. I'd make these again, but with butter flavored Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States