Egg Free Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura Greve
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Subbed a lot of things as the baking supplies were getting low... Used about 3/4 cup sugar and made up the rest with maple syrup (1:1 sub); used mostly coconut oil mixed with palm oil (less than 1/2 palm); upped the pumpkin to a full pound by weight; and chopped up some chocolate pumpkin seed bark to mix with the chocolate chips. They are puffy cake-like cookies (I imagine if you'd like them chewier, reduce the baking soda by half and take out a few TBS of flour), but they smell great and my allergy child wholeheartedly approves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Greve

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
As is, I'd give it 4 stars, since pumpkin + chocolate is not my thing. But I added cranberries and walnuts, and it was amazing. After baking, I tossed them in powdered sugar. I took them to a work party, and got rave reviews. Also yummy if you sub out half the butter for applesauce (bake a minute or two longer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Excellent easy recipe. Also great with rice flour for gluten free option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I was initially very skeptical of this recipe, but after I made it, I was definitely proven wrong. I needed to find an egg and peanut free recipe that all the children in our pre-school group could eat b/c I get tired of 2 or 3 kids always being left out. This recipe was a hit with ALL of the kids with exception to 1 (total 28 kids!). I did make a few changes: I used butter instead of shortening, added 1 tsp salt, added 1 tsp cloves, 1/4 tsp ginger and nutmeg, used 3 1/2 C flour instead of 4 and they turned out amazing. I will definitely be adding these to my cookie recipe rotation, especially during our fall season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheDeeje
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
A great pumpkin cookie recipe. I used a half teaspoon of ginger and nutmeg each in place of the second teaspoon of cinnamon. Come out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Old Town, Maine, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
great recipe! Really happy with how they came out. I used pumpkin pie spice rather than cinnamon which turned out great. I also rolled them into balls and gently pressed them with a fork and they look nice too. Oh and BTW I used whole wheat flour too and they still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I had some leftover pumpkin, I had no eggs and I wanted something sweet for me and my husband. These were PERFECT! I cut the recipe in half because having all those cookies around could be dangerous. :) I used butter instead of shortening. I used about 12 oz. of canned pumpkin. And I used about 3 oz. each of white chocolate chips and semisweet chocolate ships. SO SO GOOD! These cookies are moist, soft and chewy. I would love to make these again! Thank you, Arlene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Fabulous cookies! I didn't change anything but add a tsp of salt. I did however back off the oven to 350F and baked for only 12 min ads I do not like overbrown bottoms or dry cookies. These are the best cookies I've ever tried on Allrecipes. Thanks Arlene from me and my grandson who is allergic to eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Everyone who tried them LOVED them and I had so many compliments. My changes were: 1. Used Butter (some melted and some really soft as I forgot to let it sit our for awhile to get room temp) instead of shortening 2. 2 cups fresh pumpkin puree instead of 15 oz of can pumpkin 3. My flour was unbleached all purpose flour if it matters 4. 350 degrees not 375 (1st batch mis were all burnt on the bottom so I tried the lower temp which worked) 5. baked smaller cookies for 12 mins and let the bigger one stay in while I put smaller cookies on cooling rack so the bigger ones were in 13-14 mins 6. I used my silicone mats on my metal pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I used 3/4 cup of shortening and 1/4 cup of butter for extra flavor, and the cookies were still missing something. Because I didn't want a cinnamon cookie, I omitted that all together, but that may have been what was missing. I'm using some of the dough, sans chocolate chips, to make some more cookies but with raisins. I hope I like them more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adjantz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States