Egg Foo Yung with Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This dish was exceptional! I followed the recipe exactly and found it easy to make and the mushroom sauce on top of the 'pancakes' was a perfect accompanyment. Served it up with Chinese Chicken Salad III. Will do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I'm rating the Egg Foo Yung patties because I did my sauce differently. In addition to the other veggies, I also added spinach and they were incredible. So the sauce would taste like what I'm used to from our local restaurant, I added some of the canola oil I used to cook the omelets to the pan and made a roux. I then added chicken broth, soy sauce, Gravy Master and seasonings. The result was a nice rich gravy that helped make this dish even more amazing than it already is. Thanks a bunch Dakota!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Excellent and so simple! One of my favorite Chinese dishes. My mother made this for us when we were kids. Her's was good, but this one's better. Next time, I'll add diced Chinese red pork, chicken or shrimp. Definately a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RayColsOh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I love Egg Foo Young! I like this recipe a lot but I didn't go completely by the book either... I added a couple pinches of salt to my eggs as well as mixed a few drops of sesame oil. And being extra lazy... I just cut up the mushrooms up really tiny and mixed it into the eggs also. So for the sauce... I just left it plain and added a additional ingredient which was a few pinches of sugar to it so it gave it a nice carmelized taste. Then added the diced green onions as well as some toasted sesame seeds on top as garnish. Yum :9 People were saying they weren't sure how to make it into a thick pancake. The trick is to make a large / thin egg layer... fold the edges so it's shaped sorta like a octagon. Now you have a nice round and "thick" little egg pancake. Great for fitting it on top of a nice little mound of rice in a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
We really enjoyed this dish. The egg pancakes were very good, and the mushroom sauce would have been fantastic had it not been so salty. I think next time I will use 1/2 soy sauce and 1/2 water. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned straw mushrooms (the kind with black caps) and 4 dried shiitake mushrooms (after soaking in water). What wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Never had this before. Boyfriend said his mom used to make it. Looked it up, found this recipe with mushrooms, I love mushrooms, recipe looked pretty easy. Followed recipe, had to use canned bean sprouts and canned mushrooms but it still turned out great. Served it with Ham Fried Rice. Pancakes were not hard to make. And the sauce was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hungry Hungry Hippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I think the dish was good but I did not have peanut oil and used vegetable oil instead. The mushroom sauce was very good and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Great recipe, and very,very fast and simple. I added additional spices to both the egg mixture and mushroom sauce (garlic, five-spice seasoning), but other than that, the recipe is great as is, and everyone loved it and thought it tasted just like it does at a chinese restuarant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I had a crazy craving for Egg Foo Yung, just like I used to eat as a kid at my favorite Chinese food spot. I made a few changes to this recipe based on what I had on hand...no bean sprouts, but instead I added some diced zucchini and carrots, a little shallot, and some chinese sausage. I cooked it all just a little bit in some peanut oil, drained it on a paper towel, and then added it to the egg mixture as directed. The sauce was PERFECT just as it was. This satisfied my craving...but with this recipe in my stash, I'm sure it will be back sooner than later! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This recipe was was very tasty. I used anegg substitute and it worked well. I also used a non stick spray to cut fat and calories. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States