Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
My boys and I really enjoyed this a lot. I added shrimp and fresh bamboo shoots and peas. Left out all the other "meats" for personal preference. Very easy and tasty. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jamko
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Wonderfully easy to make. Turned into St. Paul sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Good base recipe for egg and veges. I used pork only, cooked with Teriyaki sauce, Chinese 5 spice, fresh ginger and Lawry's seasoning. For the minced veges, I used bok-choy, mushrooms, sweet onion, fresh garlic and a small sweet red pepper, along with bean sprouts and chopped bamboo shoots. The sauce wasn't flavorful enough for us, so I added a bit of Chinese 5 spice and a bit of Teriyaki, in addition to soy sauce. I used low sodium chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Really quick and easy, taste like resturant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
THIS IS AWESOME! I will make this again and again. My husband absolutely loves egg foo. Takes just as good as the restaurants. He thought the Foo sauce was a little salty, I thought it was just perfect! Great find... Recipe I'll keep and pass around to all who want a good egg foo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Babcock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this for breakfast today. I love all the vegetables; I used some leftover ham that I chopped up instead of the other meats, but would have used them if I had them handy. That was the only change I made to this recipe. The egg part turned out great. I sauted all the vegetables and meat before adding to the eggs, then cooked them as the recipe stated in the same pan. I made the sauce in the microwave. It was too thin and very, very, very salty. I will make this again, but will tweak it. It was a lot of prep time and the oil for cooking the eggs is not listed in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was SO good! Just like take-out. I left out the mushrooms and used only pork but know it would be great as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Add some chopped water chestnuts for extra crunch and sprinkle some cilantro over top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My husband said that this was the best egg fu yung he ever had. I did tweak it tho. I didn't have any celery, so I added a 1/2 tsp celery seed for the flavor. I used wild chanterelles for the mushrooms, so I cooked them with the shrimp before adding. Oh, and I used shrimp in place of the meat. Plus I added a couple cloves of garlic while the shrimp and chanterelles were sauteeing. Finally, I added a healthy squirt of sriracha and a tsp of peanut butter to the sauce. There you have it: best egg fu yung my husband ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
The only meat I used was pork and I ground it up in the food processor. I thought the combination of flavors was quite tasty...just as good as my favorite Chinese restaurant. The sauce was ok...not sure what was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States