Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
This was quick and easy. I used a bag of frozen wok vegetables and cut my time in half. The sauce recipe could be cut in half if you're not big on soy sauce! A great taste overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
i was surprised at how much this tasted like a chinese joint's egg foo yung.... very tasty. it might take a couple of tries before getting the timing down for turning over each batch. but even if they are a little messy, the taste is still there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was the first time I ever tried Egg Foo Yung (I don't know what it was - I just had this craving and alot of extra eggs on hand!) I omitted the celery because I don't like it but it was very good. Not ever having it before it was as I imagined it. But I thought the sauce would be a little sweeter. Next time I make it (and I will) I will add more sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Quigley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I thought that this recipe was delicious. I didn't use all of the meat because it seemed to be so much. So I used the pork and chicken and omitted the ground meat. Maybe next time I will try the ground meat. I recommend trying to cut your pork and chicken in smaller pieces when preparing. This helps keep the egg from falling apart when it comes time to flip. The sauce was delicious, too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good! I thought the gravy went along with it well. Instead of chopping up so many vegetables, I just used a can of La Choy Chop Suey vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
These were surprisingly good. Very easy to make and had the right taste. I didn't care for the sauce, and next time I'm going to try using beef broth instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
The recipe didn't turn out quite as well as I had hoped. I wasn't too fond of the ground beef and felt it was all a bit dry. My boyfriend and I had to add a ton of soy sauce to give it more flavor. I think I'll stick with good 'ol stir fry! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Very good and easy. Will make again for sure. Didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I am always trying new recipes, and this is a keeper. It did taste just like a chinese joint's egg fu yung, like AIDANKWSF said. I think I will try someone elses suggestion and add a tablespoon of cornstarch to the egg mixture next time, because the egg did spread some. The sauce was very good, I used the beef bouillon, and only used finely chopped ham as the only meat item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORYTIMEMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I am so glad I found this recipe. The egg foo yung came out exactly like they do at my local place. I added some powdered ginger, I think it gave the recipe some added mppphhh:.) I also used canned bean sprouts. You can make this recipe using canned or fresh ingredients, or a combo of the two. The first time I made this I made them vegetarian because I lacked some of the other ingredients. All the times they have tasted great. The great thing about this recipe is that you can expand on it and make it your own. I have tried shrimp, chicken, and beef egg foo yung. When I placed the batter in the pan, the ingredients beside the egg did stay just in the middle. It wasn't a problem though. I just spread the ingredients. Whether you choose to use the amount of called for ingredients or just veggie, etc., the amount of spices, etc. can stay the same. The sauce was good. It was simple. Same as the egg foo yung, it can be expanded on. Using fresh chicken stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States