Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
egg foo yung has always been a favorite of mine but had not found a recipe that was right. I finally found it. I meade the patties with veggies only and five eggs. I used boxed chicken broth instead of cubes (I find them too salty). Friends and I get together occasionally for a movie night and dinner. I plan on making them when get together again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
It was wonderful! I used what veggies and meat I had and it was still incredible! I made it with only scallions, fresh bean sprouts and shrimp. I was amazed. Can't wait to try it with water chestnuts, pork and celery as well. Don't change the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushimom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I used beef bouillon rather than chicken, and I used chicken and tiny shrimp. It was missing a little 'something', but I'm not sure what. I also found the mixture to be a little thin, and made wide thin patties as opposed to thicker ones. Still, my entire family enjoyed this recipe, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Really good! I added a little more cornstarch because we like our gravy thicker. I just used ham and veggies in with the eggs. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scout
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was really fantastic. I only used ham for the meat because thats what I had and it worked great. These really do taste just like what you get in a restaurant. I also added some green onions to the top once everything was plated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe closely, except I used beef "Better Than Boullion" in the sauce instead of chicken boullion cubes, and for meat I used only chopped up leftover roast pork. And I also added about a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger to the sauce. The sauce did come out salty, but this was my fault, as I may have been a little heavy handed with the beef base. The egg patties, however, were great--restaurant quality. I'll take the advice of another reviewer and use the tuna can idea to shape the patties next time, as they were a bit of a challenge to keep together. I think that hint will do the trick. Once I lighten up on the beef base, this will be perfect. Great recipe--try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! Fast, easy, and tastes just like at the restaurant! A dash of ginger would make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Patties wonderful. I used ham instead of other meats. Delicious, i dont even normally like egg foo yung either. Gravy i didnt do very good job, i tried 3 times, but that was my bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This did not turn out well at all. I gave it 2 stars because it was edible, and I ate it because I didn't want to waste all of those eggs. I know it was probably me, but I just felt like it was missing something. It turned out like a very bland mushroom/bean sprout omlette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Fabulous! No meat on hand, so we just added a few more sprouts, celery and mushrooms (which were from a can). Outstanding! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States