Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I just have to say "Thank You!" This was wounderful. I didn't have celery,so I used a little more bean sprouts then called for, used all chicken, had a pack of sliced mushrooms, used half chopped in veggie mixture, other half in gravy, stir fried the veggies a little bit [let cool] to incorporate the flavors some.] Beat the eggs seperatly from the veggies, but not over beated.For the gravy I used 1 1/2 cups of beef broth instead of water, I didn't boil it first, and a splash of sherry from another site. My husband looked at me and said, "this is really good!" Yea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I had a really hard time getting my eggs to set and keeping all of my stuff in there, even with chopping everything up pretty small! The sauce was okay but lacking something that I couldn't put my finger on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
egg foo yung has always been a favorite of mine but had not found a recipe that was right. I finally found it. I meade the patties with veggies only and five eggs. I used boxed chicken broth instead of cubes (I find them too salty). Friends and I get together occasionally for a movie night and dinner. I plan on making them when get together again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
It was wonderful! I used what veggies and meat I had and it was still incredible! I made it with only scallions, fresh bean sprouts and shrimp. I was amazed. Can't wait to try it with water chestnuts, pork and celery as well. Don't change the sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sushimom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very good recipe. I used beef bouillon rather than chicken, and I used chicken and tiny shrimp. It was missing a little 'something', but I'm not sure what. I also found the mixture to be a little thin, and made wide thin patties as opposed to thicker ones. Still, my entire family enjoyed this recipe, and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Really good! I added a little more cornstarch because we like our gravy thicker. I just used ham and veggies in with the eggs. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by scout
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was really fantastic. I only used ham for the meat because thats what I had and it worked great. These really do taste just like what you get in a restaurant. I also added some green onions to the top once everything was plated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was really good. I followed the recipe closely, except I used beef "Better Than Boullion" in the sauce instead of chicken boullion cubes, and for meat I used only chopped up leftover roast pork. And I also added about a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger to the sauce. The sauce did come out salty, but this was my fault, as I may have been a little heavy handed with the beef base. The egg patties, however, were great--restaurant quality. I'll take the advice of another reviewer and use the tuna can idea to shape the patties next time, as they were a bit of a challenge to keep together. I think that hint will do the trick. Once I lighten up on the beef base, this will be perfect. Great recipe--try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saugus, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe! Fast, easy, and tastes just like at the restaurant! A dash of ginger would make this perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Patties wonderful. I used ham instead of other meats. Delicious, i dont even normally like egg foo yung either. Gravy i didnt do very good job, i tried 3 times, but that was my bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States