Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
i was surprised at how much this tasted like a chinese joint's egg foo yung.... very tasty. it might take a couple of tries before getting the timing down for turning over each batch. but even if they are a little messy, the taste is still there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This was the first time I ever tried Egg Foo Yung (I don't know what it was - I just had this craving and alot of extra eggs on hand!) I omitted the celery because I don't like it but it was very good. Not ever having it before it was as I imagined it. But I thought the sauce would be a little sweeter. Next time I make it (and I will) I will add more sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Quigley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I thought that this recipe was delicious. I didn't use all of the meat because it seemed to be so much. So I used the pork and chicken and omitted the ground meat. Maybe next time I will try the ground meat. I recommend trying to cut your pork and chicken in smaller pieces when preparing. This helps keep the egg from falling apart when it comes time to flip. The sauce was delicious, too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good! I thought the gravy went along with it well. Instead of chopping up so many vegetables, I just used a can of La Choy Chop Suey vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I thought this was delicious. It's my boyfriend's favorite chinese meal and he thought it was better than anything he's had at a restaurant. I pretty much made it as the recipe indicated. I was free and easy with quantities and it didn't seem to matter. I did use beef boullion cubes instead of chicken. As far as the egg spreading, I did add corn starch as someone suggested, but I still doubt that's a big deal. Just keep an eye on the patties until they set and sort of scrape the egg that separates into the patty and you're good to go. I made mine in an electric fry pan and put the lid on while they set. One thing: I would increase the amount of the sauce by half again as much. Other than that, absolutely delicious. Also, suggest rice as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I am so glad I found this recipe. The egg foo yung came out exactly like they do at my local place. I added some powdered ginger, I think it gave the recipe some added mppphhh:.) I also used canned bean sprouts. You can make this recipe using canned or fresh ingredients, or a combo of the two. The first time I made this I made them vegetarian because I lacked some of the other ingredients. All the times they have tasted great. The great thing about this recipe is that you can expand on it and make it your own. I have tried shrimp, chicken, and beef egg foo yung. When I placed the batter in the pan, the ingredients beside the egg did stay just in the middle. It wasn't a problem though. I just spread the ingredients. Whether you choose to use the amount of called for ingredients or just veggie, etc., the amount of spices, etc. can stay the same. The sauce was good. It was simple. Same as the egg foo yung, it can be expanded on. Using fresh chicken stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I am always trying new recipes, and this is a keeper. It did taste just like a chinese joint's egg fu yung, like AIDANKWSF said. I think I will try someone elses suggestion and add a tablespoon of cornstarch to the egg mixture next time, because the egg did spread some. The sauce was very good, I used the beef bouillon, and only used finely chopped ham as the only meat item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORYTIMEMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
If you want to raise this recipe up a notch, use anchovies instead of meat! It is delicious. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was really good. I am vegetarian so in the gravy I used veggie stock and in the patties i just added a lot of bean sprouts. Next time I would try more veggies like waterchestnuts, carrots etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIPERDOG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
I used both canned sprouts and mushrooms, and chopped baby shrimp in place of the meats. My family raved! The sauce is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States