Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Becky
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Fabulous! We loved it. Was quick, easy and delicious. I didn't have any leftover meat, so I bought some "wafer-thin" (1/4 inch) boneless center cut pork chops. Marinated them for a little while in soy sauce, then seared them with a bit of oil. Took only minutes to cook. Chopped them up and proceeded with the egg foo yung recipe. I used an omelet pan with just a splash of oil, cooking one serving at a time. Cooked til golden brown, turned, browned the other side, and then kept them warm on in the oven while I cooked the rest. The patties cook very quickly so it didn't take long. The sauce is simple and perfect for this dish. Was a bit thin, so I added a little more cornstarch to thicken. Sprinkle a bit of chopped green onion on top for garnish. I served this dish with steamed rice, store-bought spring rolls, and Chinese Cabbage Salad II (recipe on this website). A wonderful, satisfying and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I am so glad I found this recipe. The egg foo yung came out exactly like they do at my local place. I added some powdered ginger, I think it gave the recipe some added mppphhh:.) I also used canned bean sprouts. You can make this recipe using canned or fresh ingredients, or a combo of the two. The first time I made this I made them vegetarian because I lacked some of the other ingredients. All the times they have tasted great. The great thing about this recipe is that you can expand on it and make it your own. I have tried shrimp, chicken, and beef egg foo yung. When I placed the batter in the pan, the ingredients beside the egg did stay just in the middle. It wasn't a problem though. I just spread the ingredients. Whether you choose to use the amount of called for ingredients or just veggie, etc., the amount of spices, etc. can stay the same. The sauce was good. It was simple. Same as the egg foo yung, it can be expanded on. Using fresh chicken stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Very good! I thought the gravy went along with it well. Instead of chopping up so many vegetables, I just used a can of La Choy Chop Suey vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
I thought this was delicious. It's my boyfriend's favorite chinese meal and he thought it was better than anything he's had at a restaurant. I pretty much made it as the recipe indicated. I was free and easy with quantities and it didn't seem to matter. I did use beef boullion cubes instead of chicken. As far as the egg spreading, I did add corn starch as someone suggested, but I still doubt that's a big deal. Just keep an eye on the patties until they set and sort of scrape the egg that separates into the patty and you're good to go. I made mine in an electric fry pan and put the lid on while they set. One thing: I would increase the amount of the sauce by half again as much. Other than that, absolutely delicious. Also, suggest rice as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I love egg foo yung so I was very anxious to try out this recipe. I was actually surprised how well they turned out. I did add sherry and soy sauce to the egg mixture. The recipe didn't state how much oil was needed, so I poured about an inch into my wok. They browned up beautifully and looked very authentic. Every chinese restaurant I've eaten in has always served theirs with a rich brown gravy which is what I used in lieu of the recipe sauce. Hubby and kids were very happy with this terrific dish. Thanks Debbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
i was surprised at how much this tasted like a chinese joint's egg foo yung.... very tasty. it might take a couple of tries before getting the timing down for turning over each batch. but even if they are a little messy, the taste is still there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I thought that this recipe was delicious. I didn't use all of the meat because it seemed to be so much. So I used the pork and chicken and omitted the ground meat. Maybe next time I will try the ground meat. I recommend trying to cut your pork and chicken in smaller pieces when preparing. This helps keep the egg from falling apart when it comes time to flip. The sauce was delicious, too! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
This was quick and easy. I used a bag of frozen wok vegetables and cut my time in half. The sauce recipe could be cut in half if you're not big on soy sauce! A great taste overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I just made this on the spur of the moment tonight. My guest, who loves egg foo yung and has it often when we are dining out, said it was the best egg foo yung she ever had in her life (and she's really, really old!). I had to thaw, dice and cook all the meats, so it took 1 hour from printing the recipe to sitting down to eat it. I don't use bouillon cubes, so I boiled down 2 cups of homemade chicken broth to equal 1-1/2 cups for the sauce. Other than that (and leaving out the yukky celery!), no changes or adjustments were made. Oh, and I liked it, too! Thanks, Armycookwife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Delicious and very quick to make. I only subbed out the celery for some diced green pepper (no celery on hand). The sauce seemed a bit thin, so I added a bit more cornstarch to thicken. Other than that, it was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States