Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is very tasty and I would make again. I mostly followed the recipe, but only used pork for the meat. I used the smallest skillet I had, and I had no problem with spreading. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is due to the texture; it's like an American style omelet and not even close to the restaurant style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I made this with no meat, and with veggie broth.. LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
excellent. I add a little cornstarch to the egg mixture to keep it formed better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This recipe tasted just like the Egg Foo Yung I love at my favorite chinese restaurant. I substituted green onions for onion and added 1/2 cups of finely chopped carrots. I made it for a party and everyone loved it! I didn't think it would reheat well the next day but it actually made really delicious leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Excellent! I do not give the 5-star rating very often, but this deserves it! I substituted out all the meat and subbed in an extra cup of sprouted mung beans. Thoroughly enjoyed; thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Awesome recipes. The sauce is a little think so I might add more cornstarch the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Scaled this recipe for 2 but since I tweaked it a bit based on reviewers' notes & my hubby's suggestions, it yielded 4. What I did: INGREDIENTS For the egg mixture: (1) used 4 vs 3 eggs (2) used 2/3 vs 1/3 cup bean sprouts [though hubby said it was too much. next time i'll stick to 1/3 cup] (3) used 3 whole shrooms, sliced vs 3 TBSPs diced (4) used 2/3 cup cooked ham vs required meats (5) added 1/4 cup water chestnuts (6) skipped the salt (7) diluted cornstarch for each batch of egg foo yung For the sauce: (8) doubled all the ingredients (9) added 6 tsps of sugar (the original recipe was too salty) (10) added 1/4 tsp ground ginger (11) added green onions, for garnishing First, I QUICKLY stir-fry the veggies (cooking the shrooms 1st) & cooked ham. I set this aside, separate from the beaten eggs. After 4 tries, this is what worked best for me: To make 1 serving, dissolve 2 tsps cornstarch in 1 tsp cold water, add 1/4 cup beaten egg & 1/2 cup veggie/meat mixture. Place a can w/ NO LIDS on an oiled & heated pan & pour in the egg mixture; fry one side for 3 mins. After 3 mins, run a fork around the insides of the can to separate the egg from the can then slip a wide spatula (as wide as the can's circumference) under the egg mixture & can & QUICKLY flip it (can & mixture) over. I used a 28-oz can, about 6" high & about 4 to 5" in diameter. My hubby couldn't believe we could eat gooood Chinese food at home! Thanks for the recipe & reviews! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My husband said, "Is this from THAT site? This is prob. the best thing you've ever made from there!" 5 stars for sure! I did not have chicken bouillion so I used vegetable. I also didn't have corn starch so I used Wondra. Otherwise I did everything as stated and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Delicious! My family loved it and it was easy to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myjazzystarr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Soooo good and easy, the sauce needs a little tweaking but all in all this is great and versatile, next time I may add shrimp, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States