Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I have made this dish twice now, and both times have been a knock out. I love egg foo young, and grew up as a staple of our Chinese takeout, but it is very unhealthy. I was looking for a recipe that I could serve to my family that's healthy and flavorful. I made some changes- I only used chicken, which I had grilled earlier with an Asian spiced BBQ sauce, then cooled and chopped it. I think used about 5 thighs. Then for the sauce I used a quart of chicken stock, added one chicken bouillon cube, a shake of Chinese 5 spice ( get a good quality one from your local Asian market) and a shake of fine garlic powder. I also doubled the soy to give it that dark color a d rich flavor..it's best to use low sodium as you're using quite a bit of chicken broth and soy. I simmered that for about 30 mins while cooking the egg foo young, thickening it at the very end. My dad always says the gravy is the secret and the second version I made yesterday, was much more authentic tasting to both him and myself. The omelet recipe is perfect. If you love egg foo young, you'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
A solid, 5-Stars from here! This recipe is dirt-simple and, once the basics are incorporated it just begs for a few variations. When I serve it, I just call it Eff Foo Yung WITH[Fill-in with whatever is available]. Vegitarian editions suffer no loss of flavor and 'foo yung' i s a wonderful way to use up bits of leftover veggies and/or meats etc. For veggie additions the pieces may be raw in most cases, but must be small. Meats should be cooked, but I often incorporate small pieces of raw seafood, shrimp, scallop, fin fish etc. The Mung bean sprouts, obviously, but be raw, well washed and dried and I also clean them a bit. We like robust flavors, so I often add GARLIC and toasted SESAME OIL if compatible with the other ingredients. The SAUCE is the real secret to a good, tasty 'foo,' so make a good one. I use a robust stock, chicken or beef) (veggie if necessary) adding garlic, sesame oil, usually more soy saucce than called for and yes, a pinch or two of MSG. (I also put a pinch on MSG into the egg/veggie mixture. No one around here fusses about it and it does enhance the flavors. A decent 'foo' is so easy, it has become a Comfort Food item here. Served with rice (variety of choice) and perhaps another side veggie, it is a balancecd, enjoyable meal that can be served in under 45 minutes. It is also ideal for a large table as the 'foo' patties will hold well in a 200F oven for an hour or more. Jazz it up a little and Five earned Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
My husband said its just like going out for E.F.Y. It was my first time I have ever had it.... I enjoyed it... But my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this recipe and loved it ..It was like eating my favorite carryout. My daughter agreed and my sister-in-law asked me to email her the recipe. from gb in chicago
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
WOW ALL YOU WANT TO BE CHEFS...DO NOT AJUST ANYTHING. ITS WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is our new family favorite and must be made at least one time per month if not sooner. This is a great recipe to use with leftovers especially chicken. I have only used chicken in this recipe and usually left over chicken from a roasted chicken earlier in the week. For people on the go this recipe is so easy and fast. Use boil in bag rice and You can get precooked chicken and make a full meal in less than 1/2 hour. The foo yung sauce is the key to this great meal, it is easy fast and delicious. Try it you will not be disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
The patties were ok but i did not like the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I loved this recipe. I used a cup of chicken and excluded the pork & beef. Best one I have found out there so far. But prob wont look any further I am very happy with this one and the gravy was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Loved it and omitted meat to make vegetarian. I also included green onions. I let the eggs set while cooking, then split it into groups when flipping so that it was more like patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
My children love it....made it for lunch/early dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States