Egg Foo Yung II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Awesome! The old Hong Kong resteraunt in our small town served up a mean egg foo yung for many years, but recently went out of business!! And this is a Great substitute! I make mine with just the veggies! mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAIRBEAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This was very good. Especially the gravy. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This was a tasty recipe. The only reason i gave it 4 was b/c the sauce needed a little something, so i added 1tbs of oyster sauce. Mmm. Even my 16 month old enjoyed this. I did have some shrimp to use up so i did use that instead of the other meats. The thought of ground beef made it seem like asian hamburger helper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
My husband is the one who made this because this is one of his favorite chinese dishes. He said it tasted great but it was too much effort to make and that when he does want this he will stick to just buying it and saving himself a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becky
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Fabulous! We loved it. Was quick, easy and delicious. I didn't have any leftover meat, so I bought some "wafer-thin" (1/4 inch) boneless center cut pork chops. Marinated them for a little while in soy sauce, then seared them with a bit of oil. Took only minutes to cook. Chopped them up and proceeded with the egg foo yung recipe. I used an omelet pan with just a splash of oil, cooking one serving at a time. Cooked til golden brown, turned, browned the other side, and then kept them warm on in the oven while I cooked the rest. The patties cook very quickly so it didn't take long. The sauce is simple and perfect for this dish. Was a bit thin, so I added a little more cornstarch to thicken. Sprinkle a bit of chopped green onion on top for garnish. I served this dish with steamed rice, store-bought spring rolls, and Chinese Cabbage Salad II (recipe on this website). A wonderful, satisfying and healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was a great recipe. The egg foo yung taste a little different from my Chinese restaurant but overall it taste great. I made it into a pattie and served it with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
This takes a little time to make, but it is worth it. So much better than the resturant one. The sauce is better too. Like store tomatoes and home garden tomatoes. No comparsion. This is a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a great recipe. I had some left over ginger, so i chopped it up and mixed it with the sauce. It gave it a nice aroma with just a hint of ginger flavor. The leftovers hold up very well. I took some to work and had to copy the recipe for all the gals in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlwaddoups

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I made this recipe using only bean sprouts, mushrooms, onion and shrimp as fillers with the egg, salt & pepper. The egg foo yung was firm and delicious and the sauce was also a huge success! Great flavor and perfect consistency. Everyone loved it and I will be making this again and try different fillers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was much better than I had expected it to be, but just not the same as some chinese restaurants I have eaten at. I will make it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States