Egg Foo Yung I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I thouroughly enjoyed this recipe, I omitted the bell pepper and added celery and also some green onions and kept everything the same. I also drained the veggies before I added them to the eggs. The sauce was tasty and lite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I had never even eaten egg foo yung before I tried this recipe. My husband wanted some and I looked it up to see how it was made, what was in it and found this recipe. Not only is it easy to make but he said this is better than he has ever had! I really liked it also. The only problem I had was the third instruction does not say to 'heat' the sauce and make a thickened sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This has always been one of my favourite chinese food dishes when ordering in. This recipe was just as good as anything I've tasted by the "pros". One note is that the directions for making the sauce seemed odd to me, because they didn't indicate to heat the sauce. I made it in a saucepan and added a tablespoon of oyster sauce for added thickness and flavour. It turned out great. (Bring it to a boil and then simmer to make it thicken) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HALLIE_TORONTO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was so very tasty and a great way to make our leftover boiled shrimp go further. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, because of what I had on hand. I used roasted red peppers and green onions instead of the bell pepper and onions. I also added a little celery just because I had some. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made it without the Shrimp and used finely diced Carrots and the Onion instead of the Veggies listed. It came out just like the Chinese Restaurant I go to. The only thing missing is the Gravy on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
My husband loves Egg Foo Young and this was a big hit. I did add some sliced celery and minced garlic to the vegetable mix and also added onion powder to the sauce mix. I also added a 3rd tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken the sauce a bit more. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Y.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynwood, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Um, more like Egg Foo YUM!! Very good, easy to make and a big hit with everyone. My husband loves Egg Foo Yung, and gets it pretty much every time we have Chinese, he says this is the best he's said. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Thanks Arliss! I took the advice of other reviewers and added celery and garlic and a little minced ginger. I have been searching for this for a long time. Can also use crabmeat or just veggies and low sodium soysauce. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Simple and tasty. Tastes awesome with some chili in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This was really tasty. I made a few seasoning changes. To the egg foo yung batter, I add garlic and some red pepper flakes. To the sauce, I added a dash of honey and some more garlic. Very good dinner. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States