Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
Excellent! Quick little cheat tip on sauce? If you are pressed for time like I always am, buy a jar of chicken gravy. Heat it up. Mix a few teaspoons of soy sauce with it. Nobody will know the difference! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Figured out how to make nice patties! Mix your cooked veggies and shrimp in with eggs mixture and then drop into the pan! I was able to get nice brown patties. I also used the chicken gravy & soy sauce trick! I am too impressed with myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by johns wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Very authentic and really tasty. I did add soy sauce to the egg mixture and I substituted ham for the shrimp. It was a very simple yet excellent meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
All your missing is a gravy recipe, All foo youngs that i've ever eaten have come with gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jim van

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broad Channel, New York, USA
Living In: Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
Excellent! Much much better than I expected. My husband loved it too!!! And it was very easy and fast to prepare! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norco, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
Great recipe! Very authentic...but very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was an excellent egg foo yung. I only used a sprinkle of salt instead of the whole teaspoon, and it was plenty salty for us. Next time I would totally omit the salt, and perhaps sub some light soy sauce for some of the real. Very Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
This was so easy to make, but I can't figure out how to end up with a nice patty like the restaurant. Mine falls apart easily. Also, I need the gravy recipe to compete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
The eggs were good... I was expecting a sauce with it... I neeeeed a good egg foo young sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tweaked the recipe a bit with the vegetables, omitting bean sprouts and adding mushrooms and water chesnuts. My first attempt at egg foo young (which is my personal standard order when we order chinese) and it was delicious! For the gravy we just mixed a jar of chicken gravy with a little bit of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wall Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States