Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
We added cut up left over pork roast. If you add a tablespoon of cornstarch, the eggs do not spread as much. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
This was great...just like we had at a restaurant! I thickened a can of chicken stock, garlic, and parsley for gravy. Using a can of Chinese veggies was easier than chopping everything, though. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
I tried this recipe on a whim without any real expectations. I was pleasantly surprised! I revised the vegetables to my liking, but kept everything else the same, made some gravy for on top and YUM! Just like my favorite restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! The quickness is really fast, and the Kid Friendly Rating is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was great. The celery, onion, and especially the bean spouts keep the calories down. There is no cheese, so it is extremely low fat. My kids looked at it with a great deal of suspicion, but wolfed it down after a tenative taste. We found it was best with a bit more salt and some garlic/chili sauce to give it a bit of kick. The bites with more fresh ginger were also better, so in the future, I will probably add more. I've also considered some fresh garlic. Give it a try for a great low-calorie start to your day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My kids' first encounter with egg foo yung, and they loved it! Looked elsewhere on the Internet for a brown sauce recipe to serve over the omelets. Hit the spot! (Next time, will add more beansprouts -- we love beansprouts!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Ailina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Come on. Be honest. Isn't there just something inherently FUN about fixing something that is fun to SAY? Anyway, as three added bonuses, this was easy, quick, AND tasty. We had this with Thai chili sauce. Nice blend of supper/breakfast tastes. So, what would that make it? Supfast?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Excellent dish. Some think it will have a strong onion taste but it did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good! I did not have any cooked ham but I did have some char siu (Chinese-flavored barbecued meat). I used half of a green bell pepper and half of a red bell pepper, chopped, for color and texture. I grated the ginger instead of slicing it to fry in oil. I also added a little hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper for taste. I cooked about 7 good size omelets total. These were easy to prepare and tasty. You can use other vegetables in place of these and add different types of meat or use shrimp. Usually egg foo young is served with chinese hot mustard mixed with soy sauce instead of soy sauce or gravy. This defintely tastes like the ones I grew up eating only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
When I lived in Hawaii I often bought dinner from the local Chinese cafe and they always offered hot mustard mixed with soy sauce for the egg foo young. I still use it to this day on egg foo young it gives it that extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MystWeaver

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States