Egg Foo Young Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I cut the recipe in half and did not use mushrooms; otherwise made as directed. We have never eaten Egg Foo Young before, so cannot make a comparison. It seemed to be a different variation of an omelet, we did enjoy the fresh ginger root and bean sprouts. Served with homemade plum sauce on the side. Thanks for sharing something new for us to try, INDIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Good recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very good! I did not have any cooked ham but I did have some char siu (Chinese-flavored barbecued meat). I used half of a green bell pepper and half of a red bell pepper, chopped, for color and texture. I grated the ginger instead of slicing it to fry in oil. I also added a little hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper for taste. I cooked about 7 good size omelets total. These were easy to prepare and tasty. You can use other vegetables in place of these and add different types of meat or use shrimp. Usually egg foo young is served with chinese hot mustard mixed with soy sauce instead of soy sauce or gravy. This defintely tastes like the ones I grew up eating only better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent. Have made following recipe exactly and have done it with using random veggies. Always good. Also, use the ginger in the tube found in produce dept.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
this was really good- we substituted ham for chicken that we pan fried then put in food processor. also adjusted veggies to our personal tastes, but sooo simple, so tasty! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Maker of Dinner
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was really good. My family LOVED this dish. The only change I made was to substitute red bell pepper for green bell pepper. I will be making this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Maker of Dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved it! Only minor hassle was in the skillet cooking the omelets. Perhaps 1 more egg added would have allowed the veggies to stick together better, or had I used a small skillet (rather than medium size). Nevertheless, great taste, great calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My kids' first encounter with egg foo yung, and they loved it! Looked elsewhere on the Internet for a brown sauce recipe to serve over the omelets. Hit the spot! (Next time, will add more beansprouts -- we love beansprouts!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Ailina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is so good! Much better than take out! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Very tasty and filling. I only used 3 egg yolks to help cut the cholesterol and nobody noticed the difference. Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States