Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This is a pretty good base, but I think what the reviewers are generally looking for is the taste of egg drop soup from a chinese restaurant. To get that flavor, you need to add a few drops of sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I had tried another egg drop soup recipe that called for soy sauce and vinegar and I liked this one better. I did double the eggs and green onions. It was soooo awesome and a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Fast and simple recipe. This soup is tastier than the ones served at Chinese Buffets -- it doesn't have a "yolky" flavor. For improved flavor, you may want to use bouillon broth (instead of canned broth) and add 1 teaspoon soy sauce and 1/4 teaspoon sesame oil. == TIP: to make long, not-so-thin egg laces, make sure the beaten egg is not frothy prior to pouring it in a slow, but steady stream in the boiling broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYBERGIFTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
I use pretty much the same recipe only what i do is i will add the white part of the scallions while the soup is cooking and then save the greens to garnish once done, also add a teaspoon of soy sauce to bring the flavor out really well, little pepper goes well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Fantastic!!! I absolutely loved it!!!! I changed the recipe a bit though.... I added 2 eggs insted of 1... half a cube of chicken bouillon... 1 shake of Mrs. Dash tablesalt... 1 cup of water... an extra tablespoon of cornstarch... and a few shakes of black pepper... this recipe is very very easy to make!! and tastes fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
Overall this was a good base soup to start with, needed some extra flavoring. We added ginger and green onions to the soup. Also needed to at least a full 3tbs of cornstarch to make it as thick as my local resturant. Will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I'll give the recipe the benefit of the doubt, because the other reviewers said it was good. But, as I learned, DO NOT use egg substitute (i.e. better than eggs). I cannot begin to explain what the broth did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillpup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
this soup is extremely good and very quick to make. I followed reviews and added 2 eggs rather then one. It turned out excellant. Thanks PATSY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
This was a quick and easy lunch for me, but I don't think it tasted anything like our local chinese restaurant soup. I also used two eggs and some of my own seasonings to jazz it up a bit. I'll make this again for myself, but I wouldn't serve this as part of our family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2001
Great Recipe! I had to use a little more cornstarch to get it to thicken like I wanted, but we loved the soup! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States