Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is a great base for egg drop soup like restaurants have. To make it a little more, here's what I did differently: 1. Added 1Tbs of soy sauce and a few dashes of ginger (about 1/4-ish tsp.) 2. I also wanted some of the sesame oil flavor in most egg drop soups, but I can never seem to get the ratio right. In order to do this, I actually cooked some chicken cut into matchstick strips and cooked that in a bit of sesame oil, then added that to the soup. I'd say a teaspoon of oil roughly. Also MAKE SURE you add your cornstarch BEFORE eggs, otherwise, the eggs get all puffy instead of stringy like restaurant soup. I'll definitely be making this again. Perfect for our snowy winter evenings :) Even the little one loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Hill, California, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Easy and tasty recipe! I can't believe how simple it was to make this soup. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Excellent!! I took the suggestions of other cooks and added sesame oil, soy sauce & pepper. I also added an extra egg. It is key to slightly beat the egg before and add it when the broth is boiling. Simple & delicious!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy914

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Added sesame oil and pepper as suggested by other members. My 11yr old nephew has declared this his new favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This is so simple and so good! I just added a little pepper, and my husband kept going on about how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Unbelievable how good this is without a lot of fuss.I did add some frozen corn to make it a little more substantial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
So easy and delicious- I make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Not only did it separate, but I followed the directions to a T (sans green onion as I'm allergic) but it tasted like chicken broth. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fox Lightstep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Simple to make. I do like mine a bit thicker so I just add a bit more cornstarch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I didn't like this...it stayed separated and the one egg did not cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States