Egg Drop Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Maybe I expected too much of this recipe but I was not impressed at all. Instead of an Asian-style soup, the result was exactly like the chicken broth my mom made me when I was sick... Very disappointed. It does make a great broth for when you're sick, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
I've made this soup without cornstarch and it was good, just like what I've had in restauarnts. I didn't like as much thickened. I also didn't have any chives or green onion on hand so I added some McCormick's No Salt Added Garlic and Herb Seasoning. I added two eggs instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is a good base but I am glad I read the reviews first because I added in some sesame oil and some pepper for taste. This made it really tasty. I also used two eggs instead of one. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
good start- I did add a couple of drops of sesame oil to it. Would even be good with a bit of cabbage or carrots in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
This was great! My kids loved it! I did however add a few drops of sesame oil and cooked the green onions with the broth. I had to add extra cornstarch. Although it wasn't yellowish like in the resturants, it was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Lynn Fox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Very simple and yummy. Make sure you use a good brand name chicken both though, I used no name and it wasn't as good as I'm sure a better quality would've been. Also, I added a touch of sesame oil and some ground ginger to the broth...so good and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I'd tried this recipe before and I wasn't crazy about it. After reading the reviews I tried it again and added the sesame oil and it was fabulous! Glad I gave it another chance, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
What a great recipe! I followed some of the other review suggestions...adding a couple drop of sesame oil and a little drop of soy sauce...it taste just like our favorite local Chinese place makes...and when I lived in China
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynne Cochran Grob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Delicious! I added the scallions and the sesame oil( while the broth cooked). Also added 2 eggs instead of 1. It's all about what you're use to. My husband loved the two eggs; I thought it was a bit much. He didn't add soy sauce; I added quite a bit (could eat it alone, I must say). This is easy - don't stress out about the ingredients. It will taste great; if not, add some soy sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Trantham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Very good recipe! I made the revisions noted in the first few reviews (added a tsp of soy sauce, a few drops of sesame oil, and a dash of ginger). I also used one can of broth and a can of water instead of 2 cans of broth. It was much less salty that way. Lastly, I diced some mushrooms and put them in there - they heated through after about 5 minutes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Firehouse Egg Drop Soup

Watch a firehouse cook make egg drop soup for the crew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States